Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexisincluding U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 12,000 sources and 200+ countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Multidisciplinary. 1,700 magazines (such as news magazines and other popular magazines), newspapers, and some scholarly journals and reference books. Those magazines, newspapers, and journals contain secondary articles as well as 160,000+ primary source documents (such as interviews, speeches, letters, laws, case studies, poems, short stories, and more) and almost 600,000 images (photographs, charts, graphs, maps, and more). Coverage: varies by title.
Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.
Put the name of your hurricane in quotes: instead of typing Hurricane Hazel into a database, type "Hurricane Hazel".
If you can't find anything in the local news, cast a wider net by looking in a database.
For some of the older hurricanes it's a good idea to widen the scope of your search. You might not be able to find much about William & Mary, for instance, but what about southeastern Virginia in general? Perhaps you won't be able to find a publication from the time, but what about a modern publication that tells a story from the time?