Finding Information - Anthropology 150 - Japanese Society - Research Guides at Swem Library, William & Mary

Finding Books

Search the library catalog using the "books & media" tab by clicking here.

Want a book that we don't own? Request it by interlibrary loan and they'll usually get it to you within 5 days.

What is a database?

The library databases contain journal articles and other scholarly information. Sometimes a database will contain the entire journal article, and sometimes it will only contain an abstract. Databases are searchable by subject, keyword, author, and more. They can be seen as the tool that you use to search and access scholarly publications, such as peer-reviewed journal articles.

Best Bet Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute-UK). Index to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries. Coverage: Late 19th century-present.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
All aspects of anthropology. Journal articles, books, bulletins, and newsletters from the American Anthropological Association. Coverage: varies by title.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

Not finding anything?

Try a different database! You can find our full list of library databases on Swem's website.
Try different search terms! Not finding anything for 'Sugar'? What about 'Sucrose' or 'Glucose'?
Ask a librarian! You can make a research appointment for some one-on-one help, chat with us when the research desk is open, drop on by for a visit, or even shoot us an email. We love to help!

Instruction & Research Librarian

Alex Flores Glosson

(she/her)

Email Me

Contact:

757.221.3107

Subjects: Biology, Biology: Medicine & Health, Biology: Molecular & Microbiology, Biology: Organismal & Ecology, Environment and Sustainability, Neuroscience, Psychological Sciences