It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
19th Century American Art
Find library and online resources for the study of 19th Century American Art.
Drawing and Sketching Sources in the Special Collections Research Center
Here are some of the drawing and sketching sources available at the Special Collection Research Center (SCRC) at the Swem Library. These sources appear roughly in chronological order. Please scroll down to see other types of sources.
Photostats, typescripts, original and printed copies of letters and papers of and about George Washington, Martha Washington and Mary Ball Washington; manuscript of "The Washingtons of Sulgrave" by S. H. Lee Washington; portrait engravings and prints of George Washington and places and events associated with him, including an original pen and ink sketch [ca. 1790] by Benjamin H. Latrobe
Papers, chiefly 1917-1941, of anthropologist David Ives Bushnell, Jr., including correspondence concerning his research on Indians in North America; diaries, address lists, specimen lists, photographs, magazines, pamphlets, and maps pertaining to his work. Also includes correspondence of his mother, Belle Johnston Bushnell.
Partial transcription of a journal, circa 1800s, of an unknown person. Part of the work is entitled "The Practical Use of Female Knowledge with Sketch of the Female Character and a Comparative View of Sesces (i.e. Sexes)," and seems to be a transcription of a work by Hannah More. The work seems to be incomplete. There are also other diary entries in the volume which were not transcribed.
Papers including correspondence concerning Millington's experiences as directing engineer of the Anglo-Mexican Mining Association, as professor at College of William and Mary where he lived in the Wythe House, as professor at University of Mississippi, and at Memphis Medical College. Includes "William Hamilton, his drawing book, 1764." [John Millington's first wife was Emily Hamilton, daughter of William Hamilton, R.A.] Approx. 163 sketches
Papers, 1821-1979, of and concerning Adam Empie, the president of the College of William and Mary and his family. Includes account book, 1829-1831, of Adam Empie and copy of his will as well as four letters, undated, from Sarah Moore Grimke to Anna Eliza (Wright) Empie as well as a commonplace book, undated; poems; engravings; flower illustrations, sketches and silhouettes; and prayers.
Letter from A.P. Baugh [Abner P. Baugh] certifying that "after an examination of the dwelling house belinging to C.E.D. Burtis, situated near Bumpass, Va, it is my opinion that $250 will be ample to put the builidng in good condition..." April 20, 1934. Letter from S.R. Jeter, Ashland, Virginia, to C.E.D. Burtis in Bumpass, Virginia telling him how to change his beneficiary with Winance (?) Council #60. handwritten notations about construction costs. Pencil drawing of a house and yard with a covered bridge. Reverse notation, "to A.G. Disosway from M.R. Disosway, March 3, 1847."
An artificial collection of papers, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War from both the Confederate and Union sides. The collection includes both official and private correspondence, orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are Confederate bonds and currency; pardons; poems and songs; autographs; maps; muster rolls; pen and ink sketches of camp life; engineers' drawings
Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. He graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children. Small drawing book of William D. Powell, an architect relative of the family.