Research Guides: Anthropology 150- Economic Anthropology: Databases

BEST BETS

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journal Articles, books, book chapters, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics. Previously published journal articles from Annual Reviews, a nonprofit scientific publisher. Coverage varies by publication up to and including 2016. Annual Review of Economics and Annual Review of Marine Science include current year.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
The database brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material (journal articles, books, bulletins, and newsletters) online to scholars and the public.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts, indexing, and full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text multidisciplinary sciences database with some humanities and social sciences offering journal articles and book chapters and peer-reviewed journals. Coverage: 1995-

Search Tips

Tips for better results when searching

Search Terms - Most databases will require the use of several terms or concepts.

Identify Key Concepts - synonyms, broader terms, related terms and narrower terms.

Use Boolean Searches- Searches using AND, OR, NOT

Use Truncation - find variants of a word (*) - example: idenitit*

Use Phrases - use quotation marks for phrases of two or more words - example: "piece of cake"

Narrow your focus by limiting your search by date of publication, narrowing a search field to "Title", "Author" or "All Text".

Use the Advance Search Options. They are usually more detailed than Basic Search options.

When you find an article you like, search for more items by the same author, with the same subject terms, or from the same source publication.