Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asian & Middle Eastern Studies 250: Critical Issues in Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Chicago style

See below for quick tips on citing books, articles and websites in Chicago style. For detailed information, see the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed., in the reference section at Z253.U69 2003.

Chicago Manual of Style
PN147 .U69 2010
available in print in Swem

See more examples
from the
OWL at Purdue
Chicago guide

In Chicago style, image and source information is placed in the caption below the image.

Frank Lloyd Wright, Easy Chair

Caption:
Fig. 1. Frank Lloyd Wright, Easy Chair. Oak and upholstery, 30 x 31 11/16 x 26 11/16 in. Minneapolis Institute of Arts, Minneapolis. Reproduced from Jennifer Komar Olivarez, Progressive Design in the Midwest: The Purcell-Cutts House and the Prairie School Collection at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts (Minneapolis: Minneapolis Institute of Arts, 2000), 84.
(Manual 12.31-12.51, pages 484-490)

Chicago style can require either notes (footnotes or endnotes) & bibliography or the author-date system; rely on your professor for which method to use. Notes and bibliography are usually favored for the arts and humanities. The examples below are for citations in a bibliography. See the print manual or the guide linked above to format notes. Also see the print manual to format parenthetical text citations and reference list citations in the author-date system.

Sample bibliography entries

Book, one author

Last name, First name. Title. Place: Publisher, date.

Komar Olivarez, Jennifer. Progressive Design in the Midwest: The Purcell-Cutts House and the Prairie School Collection at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts. Minneapolis: Minneapolis Institute of Arts, 2000.

(Manual 17.26, page 649)

Book with an editor

Editor last name, First name, ed. Title. Place: Publisher, date.

Prince, Sue Ann, ed. The Old Guard and the Avant-Garde: Modernism in Chicago, 1910-1940. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1990.

(Manual 17.41, page 654)

Essay in a book

Author last name, First name. "Title of Essay." In Title of Book, edited by Editor first name Last name, pp-pp. Place of publication: Publisher, date.

Moser, Charlotte. "'In the Highest Efficiency': Art Training at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago." In The Old Guard and the Avant-Garde: Modernism in Chicago, 1910-1940, edited by Sue Ann Prince, 193-208. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1990.

(Manual 17.69, page 662)

Journal article

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, number (year): pages.

Abrams, Ann U. "From Simplicity to Sensation: Art in American Advertising 1904-1929." Journal of Popular Culture 10 (1976): 620-628.

(Manual 17.157, page 689)

Article downloaded from a database

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, number (year), url.

Twombly, Robert. "Foreword: New Forms, Old Functions: Social Aspects of Prairie School Designs." Art Institute of Chicago Museum Studies 21, 2 (1995), http://www.jstor.org/stable/4102818.

(Manual 17.181, page 697)

Website

Author Last name, First name [if available]. "Title of Page." Organizational publisher (date published [if available]). url (date retrieved).

Duke University Libraries. "EAA: Timeline." Emergence of Advertising in America. Duke University Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library (n.d.). http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/eaa/timeline.html (accessed August 5, 2010).

(Manual 17.237, page 714)

Online citation tools

There are lots of tools that can help you format citations and bibliographies. They make the job of citation easier, but are not always 100% accurate. Double-check automatically-formatted citations before handing in papers!

RefWorks logo

RefWorks is an online citation manager. You can import and save citations to books and articles from the Library's catalog and databases, sort them into folders for specific classes and projects, plug them into research papers you write using Microsoft Word, and format them into notes and bibliographies in whatever style is required. RefWorks is a powerful tool! See our Guide to RefWorks for more information.

Zotero is also an online citation manager. It works with your browser to allow you to capture citation information for anything you encounter on the world wide web. It can automatically detect traditional formats like articles and books and also can allow you to add web page information with one click. It also allows the creating of public and private groups to share citation information with classmates or colleagues. Works as a Firefox plug in or stand alone application for \Mac, Windows, and Linux. Zotero Quickstart Guide