Research Guides: Sports: Resources in the Special Collections Research Center: Kinesiology at W&M

Kinesiology at W&M Sources in the Special Collections Research Center

note: The H2E Club was active at the College of William and Mary in the 1920s and 1930s. Membership was restricted to women who were Physical Education majors with at least a C average. "Refinement of character, including good manners, orderly conduct, and general culture" was also a qualification for joining the club. The name "H2E" stood for "Health, Happiness, and Efficiency." The club promoted physical education on campus and entertained visiting sports teams.

H2E Club Records 1927-1932 (UA 7.011)
This collection consists of a scrapbook, a secretary's book, and two copies of the H2E Club's constitution. The scrapbook contains lists of members, clippings about club activities, and photographs. The secretary's book contains roll calls and meeting minutes.
Scrapbook of Campus Life 1915-1920 (UA 78)
This scrapbook contains programs from student activities at the College such as the H2E Club Circus, theater productions, May Day events, debates, and Phi Beta Kappa events. It also includes student government materials, including a 1933 ballot and handbills from the Student Party and the Progressive Party, or "Non-Fraternity Frat."
Dudley M. Jensen Papers 1955-1997 (00/06/UA 6.041)
This collection contains five boxes of office files from Dudley Jensen, professor of Physical Education (later Kinesiology) at the College of William and Mary. These files include materials on departmental faculty, students, and committees; plans for activities and facilities at William and Mary; newspaper clippings; sample certificates for varsity athletes; and a copy of Jensen's History of Physical Education Hi-Lites (1993).
Women's Physical Education Department Records 1979-1980 (UA 198)
This collection consists of one folder of meeting minutes from the Women's Physical Education Department.
Department of Physical Education Records 1941-1991 (UA 198)
This collection contains announcements, fliers, minutes, handbooks, reports, and programs from the Department of Physical Education at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are programs and fliers for the student dance group, Orchesis; annual reports and handbooks from the women's physical education department; departmental meeting minutes; and copies of student projects and theses.
Department of Kinesiology Records 1954-2005 (UA 341)
This collections contains programs, fliers, and reports from the Department of Kinesiology at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are programs and fliers for the student dance group, Orchesis.

Special Collections Finding Aid Search

Useful Subject Headings

College of William and Mary. Dept. of Kinesiology
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physical Education
Student Organizations--H2E Club