Philosophy

An online dictionary of philosophical terms and names. Not every single philosophical term is included in this dictionary, but the site contains literally thousands of entries, along with hyperlinks to additional essays and resources.

Dr. James Fieser (general editor) of the University of Tennessee at Martin, together with Dr. Bradley Dowden (philosophy of science and logic editor), has put together this online compendium of information about philosophy.

An ambitious project which was developed at the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford and conceived primarily as a solution to the problem of updating encyclopedias. Twelve editors and 120 scholars thus far have contributed to the encyclopedia, and the project's leader expects to have most entries completed within five years.

The Daily Idea aims to make learning about philosophy as easy as possible by bringing together the best philosophy resources from across the internet.

This guide is divided into fourteen major categories, including general guides, topics, e-texts, jobs, associations, bibliographies, mailing lists, newsgroups, and philosophers. Recommended sites are marked with a red star. There are brief annotations for listed sites. Peter Suber, Professor of Philosophy at Earlham College (Richmond, Indiana) maintains this site.

Philosophy around the Web is a comprehensive page of links to all things philosophical. There are links to philosophy departments all over the world, a large selection of annotated and rated links to individual philosophy pages, "living philosophers" pages, and mostly dead philosophers pages from Apollonius of Tyana to Arthur M. Young. Philosophy around the Web is produced by Dr. Peter J. King, St Hilda's College, Oxford, England.

An excellent starting point for studying Philosophy.

Annotated directory of thousands of philosophy resources covering the following areas: ancient, medieval, modern, 19th century, 20th century, major issues, feminism, ecofeminism, ecology, queer theory, and American. There's also a directory of useful resources and tools for budding philosophers. The site is searchable and has indexes by subject, major philosophical topic, and by name of philosopher.

Much information about the American pragmatist, John Dewey.

About him, his writings, music, and pupils. Also information on books and bibliographies and a short, annotated, list of third-party links.

Information by and about the American pragmatist, William James.

The Pragmatism Cybrary features scholarly resources for the study of the philosophy of pragmatism. The site offers links to summaries, academic studies, bibliographies, articles, and homepages focussing on the philosophy and history of pragmatism and important pragmatists, both past and present.

Includes annotated, hyperlinked, online texts of the Euthyphro, Apology, Crito, and Phaedo. Also has a good selection of annotated links to other Internet resources relating to Socrates.

The main professional organization for philosophers in the United States. The site covers regular membership information and in its Resources section includes a good guide to philosophical resources on the net, a database of active women philosophers, and a list of sites dedicated to philosophers.

The APS "promotes useful knowledge in the science and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, publications, library resources, and community outreach." From the APS home page, visitors can learn about fellowship and grant opportunities, and search a database of its current members.

Archived websites collected by the New York Public Library

See the listed entries or search other terms..

See the listed entries or search other terms in the upper right corner.