Research Guides: History 216: William & Mary in the Jazz Age: Find Collections in the SCRC

Navigating the Collections

Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) Database
The SCRC Collections Database is the gateway to all manuscript and archival collections in the Special Collections Research Center. Note that all rare books, theses, dissertations, periodicals, and other publications are cataloged in Swem Library's online catalog.
SCRC Wiki
The SCRC Wiki provides links to quick facts from the SCRC's collections. Presently, much of the information in the wiki is about or related to the College of William and Mary with a small number of pages containing administrative information for the SCRC.
Mary Comes to the College with William Blog
Mary Comes to the College with William will follow events from the first year women were admitted to the College of William and Mary 90 years later. The blog begins with the action of the Board of Visitors in February 1918 and will continue through 1919.
Online Exhibits from the SCRC
Includes online exhibits about the first women students at the College of William and Mary.

Official William & Mary Records

While there are many records from offices and departments in the Special Collections Research Center, listed here are a few of the most commonly used collections. Users should also use the SCRC Collections Database to find more collections of potential interest.

Board of Visitors
The earliest existing bound volume of minutes of meetings of the Board of Visitors, the College's trustees, begins in 1860. There are a few other scattered records of their meetings prior to that time.
Office of the President. Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler.
The official papers of College President J.A.C. Chandler. Note that these are stored offsite and advance notice is required to use the collection in the SCRC.
Office of the President. Lyon Gardiner Tyler
The official papers of College President Tyler.
Office of the President. John Stewart Bryan.
The official papers of College President Bryan. Note that these are stored offsite and advance notice is required to use the collection in the SCRC.
Facilities Planning, Design and Construction
This collection includes blueprints of College buildings.

Personal Papers and Other Collections

While there are many rcollections of personal papers from students, alumni/ae, faculty, staff, and others associated with William and Mary in the Special Collections Research Center, listed here are a few collections of particular interest for this time period. Users should also use the SCRC Collections Database to find more collections of potential interest.

Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler Papers
The finding aid for the personal papers of College of William and Mary President J.A.C. Chandler.
Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler Scrapbook
This is a scrapbook of news clipping about the College and about President Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler.
University Archives Oral History Collection
Carlton Casey Collection
The collection includes many postcards of College buildings.
University Archives Subject File Collection
University Archives Photograph Collection
The collection includes various image formats documenting campus locales, people, and events.
College Papers Collection
This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.
Martha Barksdale Papers
William and Mary student beginning in 1918 and later joined the faculty.
Mildred Barksdale Papers
William and Mary student 1921-1924.
Catherine Dennis Papers
William and Mary student 1918-1921.
Paul Essex Judson Papers
William and Mary student 1920-1923.
Carl Andrews Scrapbook
William and Mary class of 1927.
Scrapbooks on the College and Student Life
Various scrapbooks from unknown creators.

History 216: William & Mary in the Jazz Age

Subject Guide

Navigating the Collections

Official William & Mary Records

Personal Papers and Other Collections

Search SCRC Collections Database