Geology

All of USGS real-time data

Event data, maps and links to report earthquake activity.

Tidewatch measures and forecasts the difference between the predicted astronomical tide and observed water levels at 10 locations within Chesapeake Bay and along Virgina's seaside Eastern Shore.

Near real time data and cruise data along with archives for air quality, coral bleaching, algal blooms, earthquake and volcano activity, oil and chemical spills, space weather and more. Provides widgets for updates.

Links to news, featured articles, and global maps on a variety of earth and environmental topics. RSS and archive of daily images. Search and browse archives.

"NOAA&s Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services (CO-OPS) is the authoritative source for accurate, reliable, and timely tides, water levels, currents, and other coastal oceanographic and meteorological information."

Flashy, non-official, tracker for Atlantic hurricanes and tropical storms.

Data sets from arctic and antarctic programs;monthly highlights, daily images, links to current research projects, educational materials.

Gateway link to real-time water and climate data from the USGS. Also annual reports, statistics and forecasts.

Receive e-mail or text (SMS) messages when certain parameters, as measured by a USGS real-time data-collection station, exceed user-definable thresholds. Real-time data from USGS gages are transmitted via satellite or other telemetry to USGS offices at various intervals; in most cases, once every 1 or 4 hours. Emergency transmissions, such as during floods, may be more frequent. Notifications will be based on the data received at these site-dependent intervals. The development and maintenance of the WaterAlert system is supported by the USGS and its partners, including numerous federal, state, and local agencies.

Browse the latest news releases and other information issued by the Office of Communications about USGS activities.

World's largest archive of weather data, though some may not be free. Ask about depository library access to weather data.

"NASA's Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) program oversees the life cycle of NASA’s Earth science data—from acquisition through processing and distribution."

"NASA's Goddard Earth Sciences Data and Information Services Center (GES DISC) provides access to a wide range of global climate data, concentrated primarily in the areas of atmospheric composition, atmospheric dynamics, global precipitation, and solar irradiance."

Incorpoated Research Institutions for Seismology "The IRIS DMC archives and distributes data to support the seismological research community."

ScienceBase is "a collaborative scientific data and information management platform used directly by science teams" at the USGS

The Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science maintains a list of hydrological data portals