Research Guides: Geology: Maps

Maps

The Geology Map Collection includes sets, series, and individual map sheets filed in several locations. Although most of the maps in the collection are cataloged, many maps are indexed only. Contact the Swem Research Desk or Camille Andrews for assistance locating maps.

Maps with the location Mapcase are located in the map cases on Swem Library's first floor, in the government documents area.
These maps are filed by map type or theme.

Maps with the location Stacks are filed by call number in Swem Library's second and third floor shelving.

Geographic Names Information System
Official national repository of domestic names information developed by the USGS in cooperation with the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN). The database contains information about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United
National Geologic Map Database
Citations and links to online maps when available. Search by location or map features.
US Topo
View and download current topographic maps from the USGS. Alternate between satellite, hybrid, and topo views. Includes point location latitude and longitude.
USGS National Map
U.S. Topographic Map Symbols
Historical U.S. Topographic Maps
15' and 30' topographic maps available for viewing and download. Series coverage started 1884. Includes conterminous 48 states, Hawaii, and limited parts of Alaska, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgini Islands
Search for Virginia Geologic Maps and Data
Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center Image Gallery
Includes Landsat single-state images in .jpg and .tif format; free
National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program
The National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program (NCGMP) is the primary source of funds for the production of geologic maps in the United States and provides accurate geologic maps and three-dimensional framework models that help to sustain and improve the quality of life and economic vitality of the Nation and to mitigate natural hazards.
more...less...
The NCGMP represents over 2 decades of successful cooperation among Federal (FEDMAP), State (STATEMAP), and university (EDMAP) partners to deliver digital geologic maps to customers. Each of these three components has a unique role, yet all work cooperatively to select and map high-priority areas for new geologic maps.
United States geological highway map series
Maps produced by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists in cooperation with the US Geological Survey. For later individual maps search PRIMO for "Geological Highway Map" and use the filters on the side to narrow down to Maps as Material Type
Online Guide to US Map Collections
Western Association of Map Librarians' crowd-sourced guide to map collections in the US
Western Map Collections by Region
Western Association of Map Librarians' listing of regional map collections
OpenTopography
"OpenTopography facilitates community access to high-resolution, Earth science-oriented, topography data, and related tools and resources."

Indexes to Swem Library Mapcases

Archived 7.5' topographic maps are in the Lane cabinets, Governement Documents Section, first floor.

Geologic, physiographic, and thematic maps are in the Hamilton cases, Government Documents Section, first floor.

For assistance with maps, contact the Swem Library Research Desk.

National Parks & Monuments - Geologic and Topographic Maps
Physiographic Maps U.S.
Physiographic Maps World
State Geologic Maps, A-I
State Geologic Maps K - M
State Geologic Maps P - W
Gravity Maps
Magnetic Maps
Satellite Maps
Thematic Maps
Includes local bathymetric charts, ecoregions of the U.S., National Atlas separates, and economic resources.
U.S.G.S. I-series maps
Unrolled maps, indexed by title
World Geologic Maps A-C
World Geologic Maps D-J
World Geologic Maps K-Z
Virginia 7.5 Topographic Map Graphic Index
Search by location for quadrangle names
Virginia 7.5' Topographic Maps Archive Collection
Virginia 15' Topographic Map Index
Virginia 30' X 60' Topographic Map Index
Geologic Map Index of Virginia, 1976, Mcintosh and Eister
Index to pre-1976 mapping by federal, state and commercial organizations and universities. Graphic interface for various scales. Citations keyed to W&M holdings by call number.