Information on many subjects from the 14th century BC-21st century AD drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.
Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.
The Dictionary of Irish Biography (DIB) is Ireland's national biographical dictionary. One of the flagship research programs based at the Royal Irish Academy, the DIB tells the island’s life story through the biographies of men and women born in Ireland, north and south, who came to prominence either at home or overseas, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland. Featuring comprehensive, scholarly biographies encompassing every sphere of human activity, the DIB is an indispensable work of reference for scholars, students, journalists, broadcasters, genealogists, diplomats and the general reader interested in Ireland’s past, or in the art of biography and life writing.
Ireland, from the ""European Nations"" series, is a useful reference guide for any student interested in the modern history of Ireland. This new volume provides a wealth of information on the people, places, events, and issues that are crucial to the study of Irish history, as well as a chronology of Irish history from the 16th century to the present and a general narrative of Irish history in the same time frame. ""Ireland"" provides the public library, college, and high school reader with a foundation in Irish history. Major areas of coverage include Ireland's special relationship with American history, Ireland's troubled political history, and Ireland's cultural contributions to the world.
Ireland's landscape is marked by fault lines of religious, ethnic, and political identity that have shaped its troubled history. Troubled Geographies maps this history by detailing the patterns of change in Ireland from 16th century attempts to "plant" areas of Ireland with loyal English Protestants to defend against threats posed by indigenous Catholics, through the violence of the latter part of the 20th century and the rise of the "Celtic Tiger." The book is concerned with how a geography laid down in the 16th and 17th centuries led to an amalgam based on religious belief, ethnic/national identity, and political conviction that continues to shape the geographies of modern Ireland. Troubled Geographies shows how changes in religious affiliation, identity, and territoriality have impacted Irish society during this period. It explores the response of society in general and religion in particular to major cultural shocks such as the Famine and to long term processes such as urbanization.
This indispensable guide to the conflict in Northern Ireland during 30 years of "the Troubles", 1968 to 1999, covers the various elements at home and abroad that have had an influence on the hostilities. The A-to-Z entries discuss people, parties, organizations, and key places. Other sections cover election results (1968 to 1999), systems of government, office holders in Northern Ireland, and the security system. Enhancing this volume are a chronology of major events (1921 to 1999) and a subject index.
'A companion to be cherished', 'judicious and authoritative', 'informative and entertaining', an 'invaluable work of reference' - these are just some of the phrases used by reviewers to describe the Oxford Companion to Irish History.The history of Ireland has long been at the epicentre of political and academic debate. Interest in Irish culture, politics, and society, both ancient and modern, never seems to falter, not only in scholarly circles but also among the general public. With over 1,800 entries, this Companion - now available in the Oxford Paperback Reference series - offers a comprehensive and authoritative guide to all aspects of Ireland's past from earliest times to the present day. There is coverage not only of leading political figures, organizations, and events but also of subjects such as dress, music, sport, and diet. Traditional topics such as the rebellion of 1798 and the Irish Civil War sit alongside entries on newly developing areas such as women's history and popular culture. In addition to A-Z entries the Companion includes a section of maps showing the shape of modern Ireland, post-reformation ecclesiastical divisions in Ireland, political divisions circa 800, Ireland circa 1350, Ireland in the late 15th century, and the pattern of transport and communications in Ireland. There is also a subject index, which groups headwords into thematic batches to provide an alternative way to access the entries. The Oxford Companion to Irish History is invaluable to students as a work of general reference and to the general public with an interest in the history and culture of Ireland. It also appeals to academics both for the longer analytical entries and as a source of reference for topics outside their immediate area of expertise.
Ireland by 
Troubled Geographies by 
Conflict in Northern Ireland by 
The Oxford Companion to Irish History by 