Research Guides: MUSC 345: Beethoven Symphonies and Sonatas: Sources

Books

Browsing through a few books related to your topic can be a great way to generate new ideas, get useful background information, and learn about sources to read further. Below you'll find a selection of books that may be pertinent to your research. To look for more, use the library catalog or WorldCat to browse for books we have, or books outside of our library, respectively.

You can also use our interlibrary loan service to checkout books from other libraries.

Books & Media: W&M Libraries Catalog
Find books owned by W&M Libraries.
WorldCat
Search for materials owned by of tens of thousands of academic, public, and special libraries internationally.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) lets us get items for you from other libraries

Recommended Databases

The databases provided below are just a small number of those available at W&M Libraries. Use these databases to locate scholarly journal articles for your research topic. If you do not find what you need, reach out to our helpful librarians for more assistance!

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
19th Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical music, including vocal, choral, orchestral, chamber music, stage and screen, opera, and operettas. Includes recordings, program notes, composer biographies, and play lists by category. Coverage: Medieval to contemporary.
Music Index w/ Full Text This link opens in a new window
Classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. International coverage with citations in journal articles, book reviews, record reviews, news, and obituaries. Coverage: 1970-present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
All aspects of music from around the world. Citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, iconographies, videos, etc. Coverage: 1967-present.

All W&M Databases
W&M subscribes to hundreds of databases; start here to see all of them.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Newspapers

19th Century British Library Newspapers Parts 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
National and regional newspapers, including those from country and university towns, those from the new industrial centers of the Midlands, as well as newspapers from Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Coverage: 1800-1900.
19th Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
19th century U.S. urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.
America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
American history, literature, culture, and daily life. Choose this database to search the following as one file: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1, 1760-1900; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1670-1800; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1652-1800. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1801-1819; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1801-1819. Coverage: Varies.
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Offering comprehensive full-run coverage for popular periodicals, this growing resource will offer facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the seventeenth through the early twentieth centuries, totaling almost five million pages.
Illustrated London News, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
Online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full color and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations.