HIST 100: Energy & Environment in World History (Spring, 2024)

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Offering comprehensive full-run coverage for popular periodicals, this growing resource will offer facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the seventeenth through the early twentieth centuries, totaling almost five million pages.

US Congress and its issues. Summaries and analyses, previous week's news, status of bills in play, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes as well as in depth reports on issues facing Congress. Coverage: 1983-2016.

A collection of mens-interest magazine backfiles serving research in mens studies/history but also offering important additional perspectives for womens studies. It includes some of the earliest publications of this type ( National Police Gazette, Argosy, Sports Illustrated, Esquire, Sports Budget, M: The Civilized Man) and covers key topics such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment. Coverage: 1845 - 2015

A searchable archive of ~20 leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st, including Better Homes and Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, and Town & Country. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history. This database provides access to the complete archives of several 19th and 20th-century women's magazines. Coverage: 1883-2005.

An archive of Newsweek magazine, one of the premier US weeklies of the 20th -21st centuries. With coverage from 1933 through 2012, it comprises 80 years of news reporting and commentary, charting the key US and global events during this period. Its diverse content beyond news and politics (in areas including business, science/technology, arts, travel, and family life) is such that there is valuable material for researchers in many fields, from history and political science through to economics, women's studies, and media history.