Research Guides: HIST 100: Energy & Environment in World History (Spring, 2024): Finding Newspapers

Newspapers

Use our newspapers databases
or
Use the library catalog (limit results on the left)
- limit to newspapers, and limit to time period
  - ex automobiles AND horses

Some selected newspaper databases

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This database allows you to search and view public domain newspaper pages (1690-1963) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
New York Times: Historical Newspapers 1851-2017 This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1851-2017.
Times of India: Historical Newspapers 1838-2010 This link opens in a new window
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of African American history, culture, and daily life. Newspapers from over 35 states. Coverage: 1827-1998.
Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Travel back in time, during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953, with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers providing critical perspectives and first-hand accounts on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. Coverage: 1832-1953
Historical Newspapers: Virginia Collection This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. State Collections empower researchers to digitally travel back through centuries to become eyewitnesses to local and regional history. From leading issues and events, like immigration, industrial developments, and race relations; to international, local and regional politics, the U.S. State Collections reveal state and local news coverage valued by researchers. This particular collection focuses on Virginia.
LexisNexis Academic (new website at Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.
Newspapers.com (World Collection, 1690-) - Temporarily On-Campus Access Only This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com is a historical database of newspapers across the globe, potentially going as far back as 1690 and up until the present day.

There are about 15,000 newspapers in the library catalog, of which about 13,500 are online
They cover 1642-Present