Bruton High School Virginia History Day (Spring 2024)

Important Details

• Oct 23, 1942 – Nov 11, 1942
• Western Egypt

Keywords

• "El Alamein"

Extra considerations

• limit results to 1942
• use specialized databases

Types of Primary Sources

• Newspapers
  • NYT ; Times of London ; London Illustrated ;
• Popular magazines
  • British Magazines ;  Harper's ; American magazines 
• Military records
  • Service Newspapers of WW2 ; History Vault ; Archives Unbound ; Fold3 ; 
• Interviews and Oral Histories
  • America in World War Two: Oral Histories ; Churchill Archives ; Print Collections of interviews, such as "Eyewitness to History" chapter "El Alamein: the end of the Africa Corps, 4 November 1942 / General Bayerlein"

Important Details

• Published 1947 as Het Achterhuis and then 1952 in English as "The Diary of a Young Girl"

Keywords

• "Anne Frank"
• "Diary of a Young Girl"
• Het Achterhuis

Extra considerations

• many sources will be in translation.

Types of Primary Sources

• Book Reviews
  • Reviews of the book from 1947 and again in 1952
• Newspaper coverage
  • NYT ; Various British and American newspapers
• Magazine Coverage
  • mostly reviews
• Printed Collections of primary sources about Anne Frank's life
  • Material in WM Catalog

Important details

• 1622 in Colony of Virginia
• Key figures include the Powhatan, Opechancanough

Keywords

• Powhatan, Opechancanough, massacre

Considerations

• terms used in the 17th century won't be modern language usage. May need several different searches trying different words.

Primary Sources (See specialized databases)

• Books published after the event using search Virginia -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
  • Smith's History of Virginia (1624) ;  A poem on the late massacre in Virginia (1624)
  • A declaration of the state of the colony and affaires in Virginia With a relation of the barbarous massacre in the time of peace and league, treacherously executed by the natiue infidels vpon the English, the 22 of March last. Together with the names of those that were then massacred; that their lawfull heyres, by this notice giuen, may take order for the inheriting of their lands and estates in Virginia. And a treatise annexed, written by that learned mathematician Mr. Henry Briggs, of the Northwest passage to the South Sea through the continent of Virginia, and by Fretum Hudson. Also a commemoration of such worthy benefactors as haue contributed their Christian charitie towards the aduancement of the colony. And a note of the charges of necessary prouisions fit for euery man that intends to goe to Virginia. Published by authoritie.   (another copy)
  • books in Early English Books
• Colonial Records
  • search massacre AND virginia in Americana and look at results after 1620
  • search  massacre AND virginia in British History Online 
  • search  massacre AND virginia in Colonial State Papers (includes letters)
  • State papers in HathiTrust
  • Virginia Company Records search for massacre  includes letters and accounts
• Journals, diaries, etc
  • Journals from this time period are rare, but fragments exist in the Virginia Historical Index which is also online via Eight Centuries [example search]
  • Printed collections of accounts, letters, etc.

Important Details

• Took place 1676-1677
• Key figures were Nathaniel Bacon, William Berkeley

Keywords

• Bacon, Beverly, rebellion, revolt

Primary Sources (See specialized databases)

• Publications about Bacon produced 1676-1700 in the catalog
• Similar search, limited to publications before 1700
  • includes legal records, letters, documents
• Government reports and letters in HathiTrust 
• Misc documents
• Published collections of journals and accounts 
  • Example "Narratives of the insurrections, 1675-1690 Andrews, Charles McLean, 1863-1943."

Important Details

• 1692-1693
• Massachusetts
• Cotton Mather Key figure

Keywords:

• witches

Search approach

• limit basic searches to Mass. in the late 17th.
• Most of these primary sources will be compiled into published books

Types of Primary sources:

• Books written by historic actors
  • ex Mather, Memorable Providences Relating to Witchcrafts and Possessions (1689),
  • Books and Accounts published before 1700
• Reprinted Collections of Primary Sources
  • ex, Narratives of the witchcraft cases, 1648-1706
• Legal Records
  • Records of the Salem witch-hunt / Bernard Rosenthal;  Gretchen A Adams 2009
  • Salem-village witchcraft : a documentary record of local conflict in colonial New England / Paul S Boyer;  Stephen Nissenbaum 1993,
  • Records of Salem witchcraft : copied from the original documents / W Elliot Woodward 1969,

Important Details:

• sunk April 15, 1912
  • (my birthday! April 15, not 1912)

Keywords

• Titanic

Research notes

• even limiting the search to materials from 1912 we will have a LOT of material. Will probably need to narrow the focus.

Types of Primary Sources

• Newspapers
  • NYT ; Times of London
• Interviews & Autobiographies
  • many in magazines and newspapers
  • There are published collections of survivor reports but WM doesn't own them.
• books
  • Books published immediately after
• magazines
  • British Magazines Database
• images
  • AP Collection
• government reports
  • UK Parliament Investigations  [sample search]  

Important Details

• 1885-1977
• suffragist
• campaigned for nineteenth Amendment (1919-1920)

Keywords

• "Alice Stokes Paul" 
• "Alice Paul"
• Suffrage 

Considerations

• May need to narrow search due to numerous results/options

Primary sources

• Paul's Publications
  • Ex her dissertation
• Paul's interviews
  • There are many published collections of interviews, letters, and writings but WM doesn't seem to hold them.
  • The most seminal work is Conversations with Alice Paul, a 671 page oral history from 1971-1973
• Coverage of Paul in newspapers and magazines
  • Try the phrase ("alice stokes paul" OR "alice paul")  and limit to specific years, maybe 1919-1920
    • example in catalog
    • popular magazines
    • newspapers
• Government materials
  • search "alice paul" OR "alice stokes paul"  in proquest congressional
    • example pg 49

Finally, look at Paul's entry in American National Biography, which will highlight important archival collections and books.

Information

• 1894-1991
• Dancer, Choreographer, teacher

Search terms

• "Martha Graham"

Considerations

• May need to narrow search later.

Primary Sources

• Autobiography and personal writings
  • Graham, Martha. Blood Memory. 1st ed. New York: Doubleday, 1991. Print.
  •  Notebooks of Martha Graham (1973)
• Archives
  • You can't access them without a trip to the Lib of Congress, but they have a large collection.  Even with 500 primary source databases, we Historians still need to go to archives sometimes!  The Martha Graham School in New York City also has collections that are closed to the public.
• News and magazine reviews
  • Performing Arts Reviews
  • Dance Online
  • Magazine articles 1941-1991
  • Newspaper Article (including Reviews)
• Performances
  • Many are online; these are owned by WM