Research Guides: HIST 344: Colonial North America, 1492-1763 (Becker, Spring 2024): Finding Articles (Secondary Source)

Finding Articles

The Libraries have a LOT of e-journal subscriptions and hundreds of databases designed to help you find them. You can use PRIMO, the main catalog, to find interesting secondary sources (like articles!). For specialized US history topics, you may want to try America: History and Life. Both work in a similar manner.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.

Important Tips

Pay attention to subject headings
Use the Historical Period filter to narrow results

Search Example: Trade with Boston in the early 18th century

Why Use Subject Database?

Compare these 3 searches for economic* AND "atlantic slave trade"

America: History and Life gives the fewest results, but they are much more in line with what we want.

Googlescholar provides about 40,000 results we can't really skim through or narrow.

PRIMO provides a few hundred results, many of which aren't directly related to our topic.