Research Guides: HIST 100: What is Hollywood? (Fall 2023): Finding Articles

Articles: Starting Points

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communications, journalism, and mass media studies. Journal articles, also searchable cited references. Coverage: 1915-present.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Keep it simple!
- Only use a few search terms at once, connected by AND
- Example: "back to the future"
Use nouns (people/place/thing/film) as search terms in the search
- Example: "back to the future"
Limit to peer reviewed materials
- UNLESS you're looking for film reviews.
Use Boolean!
- history AND hollywood AND women
When you find a book on your topic, open it and pay attention to the subject terms!
- When you search these databases, keywords will become highlighted in the results. Pay attention to these, they will help you find search terms
Do NOT limit to full text
- Even if a database thinks we don't own an article, we frequently do have access through another databases. Use the "find at W&M" button to check.
- OR use ILL order a PDF at no cost -- we'll email it to your @wm address.

Example search: time travel in film