Research Guides: HIST 150: Writing Early American Lives (Fall 2023): Finding Secondary Sources: Articles

Finding Articles

We have over 1,000 databases and it can be hard to decide where to start.
You can look at our databases list and sort by subject to find the database best suited for your topic.
For a history class, you should start with our two excellent history databases:

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.

For broader results, you can also use the main library catalog ("Primo") to find articles.
Be sure to use the limiters, though, to narrow search results.

Article in PRIMO
Start with subject search for (kashmir OR kashmiri*) brings up thousands of results. Add a keyword in the second box, or use the "subject" tab on the left to narrow results to your topic of interest.