HIST 490C: Women of the Civil Rights Movement (Fall 2023)

This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

The progression of womens rights through documents presented to President Ford from The Special Assistant to the President for Women. Meeting minutes, briefing papers, correspondence, talking points, speeches, news clippings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1974-1977.

Historical women's periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights--woman suffrage, fair pay, and better working conditions grew in the United States and England. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1786-1933.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through womens voices. Includes materials from women in the Asian Empires, European Empires, Ottoman and Post-Ottoman Empires, Native Women in North America, Settler Society in North America, South Africa, the United States, and Globally.

Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how womens social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. Cover: 1840-present

US history and US women's history. Primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, web site reviews, the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, and all publications of local, state, and national commissions on the status of women since 1963. Coverage: 1600-2000.

Broad coverage of African American history, culture, and daily life. Newspapers from over 35 states. Coverage: 1827-1998.

W.A. Scott II founded the Atlanta Daily World at a time when most black Americans lived in the South. He felt that the race problem could only be solved in the South, which required an informed community. Rather than reading news about African-Americans through the optics of a host of prejudiced white papers, he launched his own newspaper to educate, inspire, uplift, and promote the expression of the Southern black community. Coverage: 1931-2003

One of the most widely circulated African American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1893-1988.

A leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1909-1975.

Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago daily tribune (published 1847-1858; coverage 1849-1858), Chicago press and tribune (1858-1860), Chicago tribune (1860-1872), Chicago daily tribune (1872-1963), Chicago tribune (1963-current file). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.

Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.

ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyisms rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.

The Louisville Courier Journal is Kentucky's newspaper of record. The paper has become a progressive voice in southern politics, championing causes such as public education, equal rights for blacks and advocating for the poor of Appalachia. The Courier Journal became the first U.S. daily newspaper to appoint a woman managing editor, Carol Sutton in 1974.

Published in Norfolk, Virginia, this is one of the most important African American newspapers of its time. News articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1916-2003.

A searchable archive of ~20 leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st, including Better Homes and Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, and Town & Country. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history. This database provides access to the complete archives of several 19th and 20th-century women's magazines. Coverage: 1883-2005.

Historical women's periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights--woman suffrage, fair pay, and better working conditions grew in the United States and England. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1786-1933.

The legal and politcal controversies that followed the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Several White House documentary collections, including memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, transcripts, draft legislation, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1991.

The civil rights and anti-war movements, communism, Black-nationalist and white-supremacist hate groups, the Socialist Workers Party, and American radicalism. Documents from the files of the FBI. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1956-1971.

Real and perceived African American radicalism in the 20th century, including the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which African Americans of all political persuasions were subjected. From the files of the FBI. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1920-1984.

Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Includes multiple sub-collections in broad subject areas like Civil Rights; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women's Studies; and Workers and Labor Unions. Focus of American History primary sources is largely after 1775.

The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 18321978 contains the world's most comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitionersmany who later became judges and associates of the Supreme Court itself. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions. This collection serves the needs of students and researchers in American legal history, politics, society, and government, as well as practicing attorneys. It covers every aspect of law, including civil rights law, constitutional law, corporate law, environmental law, gender law, labor law, legal history and legal theory, property law, taxation, and trademark and intellectual property law. It also touches on nearly every major event in American history from the countrys national and international wars to the most dramatic changes in the nations economic life, society, and culture.

Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Departments staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. It is organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics. Includes American Revolution, Arab Spring, Chinese Communist Revolution, Civil Rights Movement, Cuban Revolutions, Hungarian Revolution, Iranian Revolutions, Russian Revolutions, and others.

African American history, radical studies, civil rights, and political science. Documents from the FBI chronicle the interracial group that left Washington on May 4, 1961, bound for New Orleans. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1961.

The progression of womens rights through documents presented to President Ford from The Special Assistant to the President for Women. Meeting minutes, briefing papers, correspondence, talking points, speeches, news clippings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1974-1977.

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Fannie Lou Hamer was a voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, attending the 1964 Democratic National Convention in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in that capacity. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1966-1978.

Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the mens movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Documents include cartoons, correspondences, diaries, handbills, leaflets, newsletters, photographs, posts, speeches, and ephemera. Covers: Nineteenth Century to Present.

Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Includes multiple sub-collections in broad subject areas like Civil Rights; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women's Studies; and Workers and Labor Unions. Focus of American History primary sources is largely after 1775.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society, 1750-1950 brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, semantically indexed and online for the first time.

Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Departments staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

This collection is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1967-1973.

Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. It is organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics. Includes American Revolution, Arab Spring, Chinese Communist Revolution, Civil Rights Movement, Cuban Revolutions, Hungarian Revolution, Iranian Revolutions, Russian Revolutions, and others.

Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how womens social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. Cover: 1840-present

Founded by Booker T. Washington to enhance the economic prosperity of the African American community. Assorted documents. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1901-1928.

Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.

One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Access to the primary and secondary source materialswithin this collection enables you to include this important piece of the puzzle in your research.

Fannie Lou Hamer was a voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, attending the 1964 Democratic National Convention in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in that capacity. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1966-1978.

A four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

This resource contains digitizations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K. between 1950 to 1975. These original archival materials are from various libraries and archives. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials and ephemera and memorabilia. Part II contains additional material, such as music, press kits, mail order catalogues, advertising proofs, additional photos from the Mirrorpix archives, and documents on student unrest and the Troubles in Northern Ireland from the National Archives.

The civil rights and anti-war movements, communism, Black-nationalist and white-supremacist hate groups, the Socialist Workers Party, and American radicalism. Documents from the files of the FBI. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1956-1971.

Real and perceived African American radicalism in the 20th century, including the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which African Americans of all political persuasions were subjected. From the files of the FBI. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1920-1984.

Meredith's efforts to become the first African American to attend the University of Mississippi. FBI documents, correspondence, memoranda, and news clippings. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1961-1962.

Black nationalism and pan-Africanism. FBI documents, correspondence, ephemera, reports, memoranda, transcriptions, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1970-1985.

Activities of the Republic of New Afrika leaders, power struggles within the organization, its growing militancy, and its affiliations with other black militant organizations. Documentation collected by the FBI, including newspaper and periodical articles, books, pamphlets, broadsides, leaflets, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1968-1980.

African American history, radical studies, civil rights, and political science. Documents from the FBI chronicle the interracial group that left Washington on May 4, 1961, bound for New Orleans. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1961.

Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Includes multiple sub-collections in broad subject areas like Civil Rights; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women's Studies; and Workers and Labor Unions. Focus of American History primary sources is largely after 1775.

This collection is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1967-1973.