HIST 150: Southern LGBTQ+ Theatre Research (Fall 2024)

Queer Pasts is a collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses queer in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT. Each of the document collections in the database will include a critical introductory essay that helps explain the significance of the primary sources in historical terms and in relationship to previous scholarship. We ask our project editors to address the strengths, limitations, and characteristics of their archive and to explore the ways in which archives are constructed, constrained, and contested.
This database seeks to broaden the field of queer history, including projects that focus on the experiences and perspectives of under-represented historical groups, including people of color, trans people, and people with disabilities.

Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests, in the United States and United Kingdom, including the important magazine, The Advocate (1967-). The database chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. Some publications may contain explicit content. Coverage: 1954-2015.

Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. Journal and magazine articles, books, news sources, and regional newspapers. Coverage: Varies by title.

LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.

LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. Primary sources cover 19th to the early 21st centuries.

A unique fully-searchable collection, Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Also includes "Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century," though the majority of the database's coverage is 1940s-1980s.

Collection of documents from the activist and professional activities of Donald S. Lucas. Contains an abundance of material relating to the early homosexual civil rights movement (the homophile movement) and the San Francisco manifestation of President Lyndon Johnson's War on Poverty. Includes: correspondence, meeting minutes, constitutions and by-laws, newsletters, manuscripts, financial documents, reports, statistics, legal decisions, surveys, counseling records, funding proposals, and subject files. An Archives Unbound database, with materials scanned from archives of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (LGBT) Historical Society. Coverage: 1941-1976.

Collection of briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings documenting the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1983-1994.

The first US lesbian rights organization. Correspondence, manuscripts, organizational papers, constitutions, flyers, legal & financial documents, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Materials scanned for the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society collection in, San Francisco, California. Coverage: 1955-1984.

A four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. It insures LGBTQ stories and experiences are preserved. Among many diverse and historical 20th century collections, materials include: the Papers of Simon Nkoli, a prominent South African anti-apartheid, gay and lesbian rights, and HIV/AIDS activist; Exit newspaper (formerly Link/Skakel ), South Africa's longest running monthly LGBTQ publication; Geographic Files, also known as "Lesbians in" with coverage from Albania to Zimbabwe; and the largest available collection of digitized Australian LGBTQ periodicals.

With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the this collection present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.

This collection provides coverage of the development, culture, and society of LGBTQ groups in the latter half of the twentieth century. It provides new perspectives on a diverse community and the wealth of resources available in the archive allow for creating connections amongst disparate materials. Through its many periodicals, newsletters, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, international selection of posters, and other primary source materials, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II provides scholars and researchers with access to a wide variety of topics and viewpoints detailing the rich history of the LGBTQ community.

The looks at gender and sexuality in the centuries leading up to, and inclusive of, the period covered in Parts I and II of LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, providing context to the materials in those collections. It examines topics such as patterns of fertility and sexual practice; prostitution; religion and sexuality; the medical and legal construction of sexualities; and the rise of sexology. It not only offers a reflection of the cultural and social attitudes of the past, but also a window into how sexuality and gender roles were viewed and changed over time.

National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.

ODells Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwoods American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources included in the Theatre in Context Collection. Placed alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, users will be able to paint a more comprehensive picture of the life and evolution of dramatic works.

Drama Online Core Collection includes 1,100+ playtexts from pre-eminent theatre lists such as Methuen Drama, Faber and Faber, and Arden Shakespeare, as well as contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. Access to the following collections outside of the core: Aurora Metrobooks, Nick Hern Books, National Theatre Collection, Playwrights Canada Press, and Shakespeare's Globe on Screen.