Research Guides: HIST 150 06: Southern LGBTQ+ Theatre Research (Fall 2023): Types of Sources: Tertiary (Reference)

Reference Sources

Unlike books and articles, which are narrow in focus, Tertiary or Reference sources are broad works meant to get you started by providing overview and pointing you to useful primary and secondary sources. These include:

Encyclopedias
Indexes
Dictionaries
Directories
Handbooks
Compiled Statistics Sources

Note: These are usually scholarly sources but not considered peer reviewed; use an encyclopedia article to identify other useful sources, but know it doesn't count as a peer reviewed article.

Examples

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on many subjects from the 14th century BC-21st century AD drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

Rosenberg, Tiina. Sandra D'Urso and Winget Anna Renée. 2021. The Palgrave Handbook of Queer and Trans Feminisms in Contemporary Performance. Cham: Palgrave Macmillan. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-69555-2.
The purpose of this Handbook is to provide students with an overview of key developments in queer and trans feminist theories and their significance to the field of contemporary performance studies. It presents new insights highlighting the ways in which rigid or punishing notions of gender, sexuality and race continue to flourish in systems of knowledge, faith and power which are relevant to a new generation of queer and trans feminist performers today. The guiding question for the Handbook is: How do queer and trans feminist theories enhance our understanding of developments in feminist performance today, and will this discussion give rise to new ways of theorizing contemporary performance? As such, the volume will survey a new generation of performers and theorists, as well as senior scholars, who engage and redefine the limits of performance. The chapters will demonstrate how intersectional, queer and trans feminist theoretical tools support new analyses of performance with a global focus. The primary audience will be students of theatre/ performance studies as well as queer /gender studies. The volumes contents suggest close links between the formation of queer feminist identities alongside recent key political developments with transnational resonances. Furthermore, the emergence of new queer and trans feminist epistemologies prompts a reorientation regarding performance and identities in a 21st-century context

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information from 1790 to the present.