Research Guides: HIST 150: The Family in Premodern Europe (Fall 2024): Finding Reviews

Finding Book Reviews Using the Catalog

To find book reviews, search the title of the book in the main library catalog.
When the results come up, select "Reviews" under "material type" on the left.
It helps to search the title in quotation marks. Add the author's last name with an AND to narrow results further
- Example "Soul by Soul" AND Johnson

Use the catalog to find Book Reviews

NOTE: The catalog will include book reviews in JSTOR, ProjectMuse, and other e-journal databases. Searching here saves you time because it searches them all at the same time!

Book Reviews written by Historians

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.

To find a book review written specifically by a historian, use Historical abstracts

Search the title of the book.
do NOT "exclude book reviews"
NOTE: sometimes the book review will not have the name of the book in the title.
- Example: Jan Elle Lewis reviews Soul By Soul in review essay called "Slavery on the Market," so be sure to read the review abstract.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.

Other Review Sources

Book Review Index Plus This link opens in a new window
An index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language journals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews. Coverage begins with 1965.

If you can't find book reviews in PRIMO or A:HL, try Book Review Index.

I suggest trying Primo & AHL first.