Each Table will be given 6 tasks.
As you complete the task, call over the librarian (me!) to see your answer.
If it's correct, the next question will appear. There are 6 total.
Using one of the popular magazine databases on this guide, find an article about food scarcity during the war.
HINT: consider language used during the period.
HINT: consider which publications are most likely to carry these articles.
HINT: limit publication dates.
Using a government documents database on this guide, find a Parliamentary debate during the war about evacuated children.
HINT: limit publication dates.
HINT: Choose the database most likely to have this material
HINT: Keyword search within the document to find the correct section
HINT: Use Boolean
Use one of the “Human Experiences” databases on this guide to find a diary written by a woman who served as a nurse in England during WW2.
HINT: find the database most likely to have this material.
HINT: Keep it simple.
HINT: use the year written or year created feature.
Using a Film, Theatre, Television, Radio, Music database on the guide, find a Comedy film or play making fun of Nazis produced in Britain between 1940-1945.
HINT: Use a specialize database
HINT: keep the search terms very simple. Let the database do the work.
HINT: limit by publication date.
Using the main library catalog, find a republished collection of accounts written by British women during WW2.
HINT: As one of your search terms, use “Personal narratives, British” as a SUBJECT search in the catalog
HINT: don’t limit to publication date: this will omit modern books that have published reprints of primary sources.
HINT: keep the searches simple. Use multiple search boxes, one for each search term/phrase.
Finally, have everyone in your group sign up for an ILL account.
Call over the librarian when you're done!
HINT: Be sure to sign up as a student, not faculty or staff. For Dept, select your most likely major.