Handbook of Citizen Science in Ecology and Conservation by
Handbook of Citizen Science in Ecology and Conservation is the first practical and comprehensive manual for creating, implementing, or improving natural science research and monitoring projects that involve collaboration between scientists and the general public. As citizen science projects become increasingly common, project leaders are seeking information on concrete best practices for planning and implementing projects--practices that allow them to guide and gauge success while also ensuring the collection of high-quality data and rewarding experiences for volunteers. In this handbook, citizen science practitioners from around the world and with decades of experience provide step-by-step instructions, insights, and advice, and they explore real-world applications through case studies from a variety of citizen science projects. This is the definitive reference guide for anyone interested in starting or improving a citizen science project with ecological or conservation applications, from professors and graduate students to agency staff and nongovernmental organizations.
Handbook of Community-Based Participatory Research by
Community-based participatory research (CBPR) emerged in response to the longstanding tradition of "top-down" research-studies in which social scientists observe social phenomena and community problems as outsiders, separate from the participants' daily lives. CBPR is more immersive, fostering partnerships between academic and community organizations that increase the value and consequence of the research for all partners. The current perspectives gleaned from this school of research have been wildly well-received, in no small part because they address the complexity of the human experience in their conclusions. HANDBOOK OF COMMUNITY-BASED PARTICIPATORY RESEARCH codifies the methods and theories of this research approach and articulates an expansive vision of health that includes gender equality, safe and adequate housing, and freedom from violence. Topic-based chapters apply the theory and methods of CBPR to real world problems affecting women, ethnic and racial minorities, and immigrant communities such as sexual violence, exposure to environmental toxins, and lack of access to preventive care as well as suggesting future directions for effective, culturally sensitive research. HANDBOOK OF COMMUNITY-BASED PARTICIPATORY RESEARCH is required reading for academics, policy makers, and students seeking meaningful social change through scholarship.
Practising Community-Based Participatory Research by
There is increasing pressure on university scholars to reach beyond the "ivory tower" and engage in collaborative research with communities. But what exactly is community-based participatory research (CBPR) and what does engagement look like? This book presents stories about CBPR from Manitoba Research Alliance projects in marginalized communities. Bringing together experienced researchers with new scholars and community practitioners, the stories describe the impetus for the projects, how they came to be implemented, and how CBPR is still being used within the community. By providing space for researchers and their collaborators to share the stories behind their research, this book offers rich insights into the power and practice of CBPR.
Research Methods for Environmental Studies by
The methodological needs of environmental studies are unique in the breadth of research questions that can be posed, calling for a textbook that covers a broad swath of approaches to conducting research with potentially many different kinds of evidence.　　 Written specifically for social science-based research into the environment, this book covers the best-practice research methods most commonly used to study the environment and its connections to societal and economic activities and objectives. Over five key parts, Kanazawa introduces quantitative and qualitative approaches, mixed methods, and the special requirements of interdisciplinary research, emphasizing that methodological practice should be tailored to the specific needs of the project. Within these parts, detailed coverage is provided on key topics including the identification of a research project; spatial analysis; ethnography approaches; interview technique; and ethical issues in environmental research.　 Drawing on a variety of extended examples to encourage problem-based learning and fully addressing the challenges associated with interdisciplinary investigation, this book will be an essential resource for students embarking on courses exploring research methods in environmental studies.
Handbook of Research Methods and Applications in Environmental Studies by
ThisHandbook provides a comprehensive guide to the topical and methodological breadth and diversity of the interdisciplinary field of environmental studies. The chapters, each written by leading experts in the field, illustrate cutting-edge quantitative, qualitative and mixed methodologies used in environmental studies research. TheHandbook will make an ideal primary or supplemental textbook for graduate research and methods courses. It will also be an excellent resource for environmental studies students, faculty and researchers.' - Robin Leichenko, Rutgers University, US 'Usually a book with a title like this is bought by libraries, used occasionally by desperate researchers seeking a new analysis tool. This book is not like that - although between the covers you will find everything need for such emergencies. Rather this is a walk through magic and mystery of environmental science, from cultural aspects to green economy, virtual water to the latest in gaming. Buy and use it for emergencies by all means, but it's a great read too!' - Peter Bridgewater, Centre for Museums and Heritage, The Australian National University 'An up-to-date collection of methods and applications for analyzing environmental problems ranging from energy return on energy invested to international trade in virtual water and much else. The book will be of both academic and practical value to ecological economists, geographers, and environmental scientists. Highly recommended.' - Herman E. Daly, University of Maryland, US This Handbookpresents methods to advance the understanding of interdependencies between the well-being of human societies and the performance of their biophysical environment. It showcases applications to material and energy use; urbanization and technological transition; economic growth and social vulnerabilities; development and governance of social and industrial networks; and the role of history, culture, and science itself in carrying out analysis and guiding policy as well as the role of theory, data, and models in guiding decisions. Unique features include: - in-depth presentation of methods and applications in environmental studies - diverse examples of research methods complemented by a wide geographic and thematic range of applications - a careful balance between a review of the state of the art in environmental studies and an exploration of new developments in research methods and applications - strong emphasis on historic, social, and cultural issues together with the life sciences needed to fully assess environmental change - accessibility to a wide readership. Academics and students interested in broadening their knowledge of methods and applications in environmental studies will find this book to be a valuable resource. It will also be of great use to practitioners in environmental agencies looking to gain an insight into particular research methods. Contributors: L. Alçada-Almeida, P. Antunes, E.B. Barbier, A.M.Bassi, C.R. Binder, R. Boyd, L.K. Campbell, J.J.T. Connolly, C. Court, L.C. Dias, A. Drachen, K. Feng, D.R. Fisher, H. Folmer, H. Ghadimi, B. Gill, S. Gößling-Reisemann, C.A.S. Hall, D. Hardy, C. Hartefeld, K. Hubacek, M.E. Ibarrarán, R. Jackson, H.W. Kua, S. Locke, M. Olazabal, M. Paolisso, M. Patterson, M. Popp, D. Reckien, M. Ruth, R. Santos, R. Schoell, J. Schubert, L. Shi, S. Silva, H. Smith, K. Stave, E.S. Svendsen, C. Taiapa, D.S.K. Thomas, P. Von Mouche, N. Videira, J. Zhu, T. Zimmermann
Research Design by
This user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research. Chapters on each approach follow a unique format--they present a template for a research proposal and explain in detail how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Terminology commonly used within each approach is identified, and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice topics. Unique coverage includes hot topics: replication studies and data sharing, tailoring proposals to different audiences, and more. The book also includes a general introduction to social research; an in-depth, practical discussion of ethics; and a chapter on how to begin a research study, from planning a topic to developing a research question via a literature review. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bold-face key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Supplemental PowerPoint slides for instructors using the book in a class. Winner (Third Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research by
The field of community psychology has focused on individuals' and groups' behavior in interaction with their social contexts, with an emphasis on prevention, early intervention, wellness promotion, and competency development. Over the past few decades, however, community-based applications of the newest research methodologies have not kept pace with the development of theory and methodology with regard to multilevel data collection and analysis. The Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research is intended to aid the community-oriented researcher in learning about and applying cutting-edge quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods approaches. The Handbook presents a number of innovative methodologies relevant to community-based research, illustrating their applicability to specific social problems and projects. These methodological approaches explore individuals and groups in interaction with their communities and provide examples of how to implement and evaluate interventions conducted at the community level. The chapters discuss how particular methodologies can be used to help gather and analyze data dealing with community-based issues. Furthermore, they illustrate the benefits that occur when community theorists, interventionists, and methodologists work together to better understand complicated person-environment systems and the change processes within communities.
Science by the People by
Longlisted for the Fleck Prize from the Society for Social Studies of Science (4S) Citizen science--research involving nonprofessionals in the research process--has attracted both strong enthusiasts and detractors. Many environmental professionals, activists, and scholars consider citizen science part of their toolkit for addressing environmental challenges. Critics, however, contend that it represents a corporate takeover of scientific priorities. In this timely book, two sociologists move beyond this binary debate by analyzing the tensions and dilemmas that citizen science projects commonly face. Key lessons are drawn from case studies where citizen scientists have investigated the impact of shale oil and gas, nuclear power, and genetically engineered crops. These studies show that diverse citizen science projects face shared dilemmas relating to austerity pressures, presumed boundaries between science and activism, and difficulties moving between scales of environmental problems. By unpacking the politics of citizen science, this book aims to help people negotiate a complex political landscape and choose paths moving toward social change and environmental sustainability.
Citizen Science by
Citizen science enlists members of the public to make and record useful observations, such as counting birds in their backyards, watching for the first budding leaf in spring, or measuring local snowfall. The large numbers of volunteers who participate in projects such as Project FeederWatch or Project BudBurst collect valuable research data, which, when pooled together, create an enormous body of scientific data on a vast geographic scale. In return, such projects aim to increase participants' connections to science, place, and nature, while supporting science literacy and environmental stewardship. In Citizen Science, experts from a variety of disciplines--including scientists and education specialists working at the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, where many large citizen science programs use birds as proxies for biodiversity--share their experiences of creating and implementing successful citizen science projects, primarily those that use massive data sets gathered by citizen scientists to better understand the impact of environmental change. This first and foundational book for this developing field of inquiry addresses basic aspects of how to conduct citizen science projects, including goal-setting, program design, and evaluation, as well as the nuances of creating a robust digital infrastructure and recruiting a large participant base through communications and marketing. An overview of the types of research approaches and techniques demonstrates how to make use of large data sets arising from citizen science projects. A final section focuses on citizen science's impacts and its broad connections to understanding the human dimensions and educational aspects of participation. Citizen Science teaches teams of program developers and researchers how to cross the bridge from success at public engagement to using citizen science data to understand patterns and trends or to test hypotheses about how ecological processes respond to change at large geographic scales. Intended as a resource for a broad audience of experts and practitioners in natural sciences, information science, and social sciences, this book can be used to better understand how to improve existing programs, develop new ones, and make better use of the data resources that have accumulated from citizen science efforts. Its focus on harnessing the impact of "crowdsourcing" for scientific and educational endeavors is applicable to a wide range of fields, especially those that touch on the importance of massive collaboration aimed at understanding and conserving what we can of the natural world.
Fieldwork Ready by
Discover how to plan, conduct, and interpret field research with this essential new guidebook Good field research is the driving force behind advancement in the agronomic, environmental, and soil sciences. Nevertheless, many undergraduate and graduate scientists have limited opportunity to develop hands-on experience before undertaking projects in the field. With Fieldwork Ready, Dr Sara Vero maps out the fundamental principles, methods, and management techniques that underpin this crucial practice, offering trainee researchers an accessible introduction to the world of on-site investigation. This instructive text includes: Guidance on the essential aspects of environmental monitoring and soil, water, plant, and wildlife research Insights into the methods behind experiment planning and effective fieldwork Tips for team management and safety Explanations of how to select and correctly use soil sampling equipment Offering new researchers a primer that is practical and easy to follow, Fieldwork Ready is the ideal starting point for all those beginning a career in the agricultural sciences.
Community-Based Participatory Health Research by
iCommunity-Based Participatory Research (CBPR) has become the preferred model for conducting research in communities. Most scientists who conduct such research now recognize that working in partnership with the community is preferable, and more ethical, than conducting research on a communityO. As Surgeon General of the United States, I direct a number of programs aimed at encouraging Americans to avoid tobacco, engage in physical activity, consume more nutritious diets, and protect their health in other ways. We need more effective methods to persuade, motivate, and enable individuals and communities to adopt these healthier lifestyles, and it is through CBPR that we will be able to discover these methods.iFrom the Foreword by Regina M. Benjamin, MD, MBA, U.S. Surgeon General iThe editors of this book bring together in one place both a description of epidemiological methods and a discussion of community-level issues. It is a volume that will prove useful to those who wish to conduct contemporary community-based research.i n Praise for the First Edition from the Foreword David Satcher, Former Surgeon General of the United States This second edition of a highly regarded textbook on the foundations of and strategies for achieving fertile community-based health care research has been completely revised and updated. It now includes new chapters on translating research into practice, evaluating research, and applying community-based participatory research (CBPR) principles to service, education, and evaluation. The book also updates a crucial chapter on the voices of community stakeholders and an important study of the ethical issues surrounding the Tuskegee Syphilis Study. Edited by renowned professors of community-based research, the text is distinguished by its how-to approach and focus on practical research methods. The text discusses the unique challenges of conducting CBPR and addresses ways to build and sustain community partnerships. It explores ethical issues regarding health care research, includes input from community stakeholders, and describes national and international support for CBPR. Research methods covered include qualitative studies, surveys, and intervention trials. Applications of CBPR illustrate how to translate research into practice and community-based participatory approaches to service, education, and evaluation. The second edition includes new chapters on: Building and sustaining researcher/community partnerships National and international investments in and support for CBPR Surveys and methods for conducting CBPR Translating research into practice Community-based participatory approaches to service, education, and evaluation
Community-Based Participatory Research for Health by
Minkler and Wallerstein have pulled together a fantastic set of contributions from the leading researchers in the field. In addition to a fine collection of case studies, this book puts the key issues for researchers and practitioners in a historical, philosophical, and applied, practical context
Community-Based Participatory Research by
Members of communities of color in the United States often struggle for equity, autonomy, survival, and justice. Community-Based Participatory Research is an edited volume from activist-scholars who present personal testimonies showcasing how community-based participatory research (CBPR) can lead to sustainable change and empowerment. Editor Natalia Deeb-Sossa has chosen contributors whose diverse interdisciplinary projects are grounded in politically engaged research in Chicanx and Latinx communities. The scholars' advocacy work is a core component of the research design of their studies, challenging the idea that research needs to be neutral or unbiased. The testimonies tell of projects that stem from community demands for truly collaborative research addressing locally identified issues and promoting community social change. Contributors share their personal experiences in conducting CBPR, focusing on the complexities of implementing this method and how it may create sustainable change and community empowerment. Along with a retrospective analysis of how CBPR has been at the center of the Chicana/o Movement and Chicana/o studies, the book includes a discussion of consejos y advertencias (advice and warnings). The most knowledgeable people on community issues are the very members of the communities themselves. Recognizing a need to identify the experiences and voices (testimonios) of communities of color, activist-scholars showcase how to incorporate the perspectives of the true experts: the poor, women, farmworkers, students, activists, elders, and immigrants.