Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World War II Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections in both its Manuscript and University Archives sections that relate to World War II. Please keep in mind that the general collections of Swem Library also support research related to WWII.

Access Tools

Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with the staff member on duty for guidance.

Consult the Special Collections Research Center’s Web site for more information about using the collections. Registration  and search tools are available to see further descriptions of many of these collections as well as to search for additional collections. Some images and transcriptions of documents are available at the Digital Archive and at the transcription site. There is the option of Interlibrary Loan for books that Swem does not have. Staff is always willing to assist.

 

University Publications in the Special Collections Research Center

The University Archives has the following published material from the war years:

  • Alumni Gazette and Alumni Gazette Scrapbook: The Alumni Gazette published lists of W&M alumni reported in service during World War II, including lists of the wounded, missing, and killed; lists of citations and commendations; and lists of promotions.  It also published articles on alumni in the military.  The Archives has both copies of the Gazette and a scrapbook containing many of the military-related items from 1942-1945.  The SCRC has an index to the Alumni Gazette for these years.
  • Colonial Echo: The yearbook has good photographs and brief stories on war-related activities on campus.Browse by issue date to see the yearbooks in chronological order. 
  • Flat Hat: Nearly every issue of the newspaper has stories related to the war.  The SCRC has an index to the Flat Hat during these years.. The easiest way to find the issue you are looking for is to browse by issue date. 
  • Student War Council published ephemera—filed in the Student Organizations Collection.