Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Full Text Sources

Male programmer working with five screens vector image | Public ...

Searching for Full Text Articles

When you need more than abstracts, summaries or reviews of sources, turn to library tools to help you find full text of articles, books and other types of sources.   

WHAT ARE YOU WORKING WITH?

If you have a CITATION for an article

  1.  Use Primo's "Article" tab to search for the article by title. 
  2. In the results list, look for your article and a “Full text options” link.
  3. Click that link for a list of sources that can provide full text access.
  4. Clicking on one of the links indication that full text is available should should take you to the full text.   
  5. If your article isn’t found in Primo, refer to the “ Journal title” section below. If your article is found, but  there is no indication of full text, you may need to request it through Interlibrary Loan.

If you have a CITATION for book or media

  1. Use Primo's "Book & Media" tab to search for the title.
  2. Refine the search by using the Availability filter, "Full text Online", and apply the filter.  It's located to the right of the screen with other filters.
  3. Your results page provides links to available online text. Click on "Available Online" to display the "View Online" window. Here you will see databases with full text. 
  4. If you have trouble locating the full text, contact a research librarian for help or use Interlibrary Loan to place a request.

If you know the JOURNAL TITLE

  1. Use Primo's "Journal" tab to search the journal by its full  title.
  2. Click on the Journal title in the results.  If the journal is available online, you will see that notation. "Available Online".
  3. Click on "Available Online" to display the "View Online window.  Here you will  see the databases with full text articles from the journal. This window also shows availability (dates of our subscription coverage). 
  4. If you have trouble locating the full text, contact a research librarian for help or use Interlibrary Loan to place a request.

If you have your TOPIC

  1.  Search your topic keywords in Primo and  Library Databases to discover an array of sources.  See other pages of this guide for details in searching for full text using your topic.