A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. Coverage: 1860-2015
Fine, decorative, and commercial art; photography, folk art, film, and architecture. Journal articles, dissertations, museum bulletins, and reproductions of art works. Coverage: Full text 1995-present; Indexes and Abstracts 1984-present.
Art Full Text includes 1,110 active indexed and abstracted journals. 778 of them are peer-reviewed. It also includes more than 14,000 indexed art dissertations and more than 230,000 indexed art reproductions.
A resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
The International Bibliography of Art provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history; strong international coverage; at least 500 core journals will be covered, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Focuses on the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific. Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures. Provides access to Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other art reference titles. Coverage: Current. Three simultaneous users.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on art history across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Each Oxford Bibliographies article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways through the most useful and important works on the topic in question.
Art Index Retrospective provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Fine, decorative, and commercial art; archaeology and architecture. Citations to journal articles. Coverage: 1929-1984.
Citations to journal articles on architectural design, archaeology, built environment, city planning, historic preservation, interior design, landscape architecture, garden history, urban design, real estate development, and sustainable design. Coverage: 1741-present.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, is the only comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
This link opens in a new window