The North China Daily News(in Chinese: Zilin Xibao), was an English-language newspaper in Shanghai, China, called the most influential foreign newspaper of its time. Spanning the period 1923-1941.
12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers providing critical perspectives and first-hand accounts on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. Coverage: 1832-1953
National and regional newspapers, including those from country and university towns, those from the new industrial centers of the Midlands, as well as newspapers from Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Coverage: 1800-1900.
Digital images from around the world (including photography, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design, painting, and sculpture) in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Coverage: all time periods.
An extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships between China, America, and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries, including manuscripts, rare printed texts, visual images, objects, and maps.
East India Company offers access to India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.
Diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases and other materials, this collection represents a constant exchange of information between London and the British embassies and consulates.
This collection provides significant insight into the events between First World War victory and Second World War defeat, crucial to understanding the political journey of Japan during this period.
International politics, history, intellectual trends, and economics. Special reports, interviews, statistics, court proceedings, letters, translations of documents, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1949.
A self-governing area of British, Russian, American, German, Japanese, and French expatriates. Includes files from the Special Branch of the Shanghai Municipal Police, reports, handbills, translations of Chinese press coverage, and clippings from the English-language press. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1894-1985.
The records of the U.S. State Department in this collection relate to political relations between China and Japan. The records are mostly instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials; the despatches are often accompanied by enclosures. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1939.
