Research Guides: HIST 491: The International Relations of the 1930s: Government Documents & Treaties

Introduction

The selected government documents, treaties and international agreements listed below provide information on foreign relations and policy of Germany, the United Kingdom, and the United States. In addition to these materials, we have access to databases that have compiled the Presidential, Congressional and Parliamentary work of US and UK.

Print Government Documents

Documents on British Foreign Policy, 1919-1939 by Great Britain Foreign Office A collection of the most important documents in British Foreign Office archives relating to efforts to preserve peace between the two world wars. Available in four series.
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks DA566.7 .A18
Documents on German Foreign Policy, 1937-1945 v.1 From Neurath to Ribbentrop (Sept. 1937-Sept. 1938).--v.2 Germany and Czechoslovakia 1937-1938.--v.3 Germany and the Spanish Civil War 1936-1939.--v.4 The aftermath of Munich, Oct. 1938-March 1939.--v.5 Poland; The Balkans; Latin America; the smaller powers, June 1937-March 1939.--v.6 The last months of peace, March-Aug. 1939.--v.7 The last days of peace, Aug.9-Sept. 3, 1939.--v.8 The war years, Sept. 4, 1939-March 18, 1940.--v.9 The war years, March 18-June 22, 1940.--v.10 The war years, June 23-Aug. 31, 1940.--v.11 The war years, Sept. 1, 1940-Jan. 31, 1941.--v.12 The war years, Feb. 1-June 22, 1941.--v.13 The war years, June 23-Dec. 11, 1941.
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks JX691 .A45, SER.D
Akten zur Deutschen Auswaertigen Politik, 1918-1945 Note: Text in German Serie A: 1918-1925 -- Serie B: 1925-1933 -- Serie C: 1933-1937 < > -- Serie D: 1937-1941 -- Serie E: 1941-1945 Series C and D published also in English under title: Documents on German foreign policy. Serie A ; Serie B ; Serie D ; Serie E have imprint: Göttingen, Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht; Serie D : Baden-Baden, P. Keppler; Serie D : Frankfurt/Main, P. Keppler; Serie D : Bonn, Gebr. Hermes.
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks JX691 .A44
Soviet Documents on Foreign Policy v. 1. 1917-1924 -- v. 2. 1925-1932 -- v. 3. 1933-1941. "Issued under the auspices of the Royal Institute of International Affairs." Includes bibliographies and indexes.
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks JX1555 .A2 D4
Soviet Foreign Policy, 1928-1934 "A continuation of the two Hoover Institution collections published in 1957; Soviet Russia and the West, 1920-1927; a documentary survey, by X. J. Eudin and H. H. Fisher, and Soviet Russia and the East, 1920-1927; a documentary survey, by X. J. Eudin and R. C. North." Includes bibliographical references.
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks DK63 .E8
Documents on Canadian External Relations by Canada Department of External Affairs
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks JX351 .A5314
Publication Date: Specific years vary: 1909-1945
Documents on American Foreign Relations, 1939-1970
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks JX231 .D6
Documents diplomatiques français, 1932-1939 Please note this resource is in French.
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks DC396 .A45 SER. 1
Major Peace Treaties of Modern History, 1648-1967 by Fred L. Israel
Call Number: Swem Library Reference JX121 .I8

Electronic Government Documents

Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 by Charles I. Bevans U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, compiled by Charles Bevans, is a 13-volume set is considered to be the most complete collection of treaties and other agreements entered into by the United States from 1776 to 1950. Volumes 1-4 of this collection contain the text of multilateral treaties in chronological order and by date of signature. Volumes 5-12 contain the text of bilateral treaties in alphabetical order by country. Volume 13 contains indexes by country and subject.
Call Number: Swem Library Reference JX236 1968.A5
Publication Date: 1968-1976
Foreign Relations of the United States by US Department of State Digital facsimile of the Foreign Relations of the United States provided by the University of Wisconsin.
Publication Date: 1861-1958/1960
The Cabinet Papers by British National Archives The British National Archives have made available digital copies of the Cabinet Papers. Organized into themes to help with searching topic coverage includes diplomacy and foreign affairs, economy and infrastructure, and society and welfare of the state. Second World War documents cover Britain, Northern Europe, the Mediterranean and Far East.
Nazi-Soviet Relations 1939-1941: Documents from the Archives of the German Foreign Office by Raymond James Sontag and James Stuart Beddie (editors)
Peace and War: United States Foreign Policy, 1931-1941 by U.S. Department of State A collection of 271 documents which illustrate U.S. efforts to promote peace and deter Axis aggression, preceded by a narrative of events during the decade.
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks E744 .U46 1943b
The Department of State Bulletin "The official monthly record of United States foreign policy." Includes weekly collection of speeches, treaties, and other current developments relating to American foreign policy. Available in print and online.
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks JX232 .A33
Publication Date: 1939-1989
Documents on German Foreign Policy, Series C (1933-1937) Documents captured from German government archives which show German foreign policy from 1933 to 1937.
Call Number: Swem Library Stacks JX691 .A45 Ser. C.
Publication Date: 1933-1937
Documents on Irish Foreign Policy by Royal Irish Academcy
Publication Date: 1919-1961
Also available at: https://www.difp.ie/

Government Document Databases

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Historic and current congressional information. Includes Committee Prints, Congressional Record 1789-2009, CRS Reports, Hearings 1824-present, Unpublished Hearings 1973-1992, House & Senate Documents and Reports, Legislative Histories, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1952, and the Serial Set. Coverage: 1789-present.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers (1715 to Present) This link opens in a new window
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) includes the complete file of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, also known as Sessional Papers or Blue Books, dating from 1715 through to today. Also, ProQuest has partnered with the National Library of Scotland to create the very first digitised collection of 19th Century House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, providing online access to previously unseen and valuable historical documents.
Documents on British Policy Overseas This link opens in a new window
Provides users with access to a wide range of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on throughout the twentieth century. Selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, Documents on British Policy Overseas includes many documents specifically de-classified for inclusion in the series.
Includes: British Documents On The Origins Of The War 1898-1914 ; Collected Diplomatic Documents Relating To The Outbreak Of The European War (1915) ; Documents On British Foreign Policy 1919-1939 ; Documents On British Policy Overseas

American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project is a collection of presidential documents including speeches, memoranda, written statements, letters, etc. Can search by president to locate only documents relating to that presidency.
National Security Archive Digitized Documents
An online collection of declassified documents covering US policy decisions digitized by the National Security Archive.
League of Nations Official Documents
Search for digitized League of Nations documents. For the League of Nations Official Journal go to HeinOnline.

HIST 491: The International Relations of the 1930s

Ask Us - Research Chat

Search Tips

Introduction

Print Government Documents

Electronic Government Documents

Government Document Databases