Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CLCV100: The Witch in the Western World

This guide contains resources that could be useful for finding information for projects in CLCV100: The Witch in the Western World

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

ATLA Religion Database
All fields of religion: biblical studies, archaeology, world religions, church history, ethics, etc. Citations to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays. Coverage: 1908-present.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.

JSTOR
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title.

Project Muse
Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title.

Anthropology Plus (Mostly non-western topics about witchcraft, but could be useful for comparison.)
Social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute-UK). Index to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries. Coverage: Late 19th century-present.

Anthrosource (Mostly non-western topics about witchcraft, but could be useful for comparison.)
All aspects of anthropology. Journal articles, books, bulletins, and newsletters from the American Anthropological Association. 

Find Images

ARTstor
Digital images from around the world (including photography, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design, painting, and sculpture) in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Coverage: all time periods.

Find Streaming Video

Ethnographic Video Online​ (Mostly non-Western topics about witchcraft, but could be useful for comparison.)
Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**

Films on Demand
Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.**