Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French & Francophone Studies Resources: Find News and Current Events

A guide to resources in French & Francophone language, literature, and culture.

News and Current Events Sources

These library databases will frequently include the ability to limit your search to sources by country/region and by language. Keep in mind that if you limit your search to sources in a specific language, you may have to enter search terms in that language.

LexisNexis Academic

Includes Le Monde (April 1997 - today) and Le Figaro (Oct 1996 - today). News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.

Access World News

Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 8,400 sources and 152 countries. Coverage: 1978-present.

Factiva

Marketed as a business information service, but includes the full text of thousands of newspapers from around the world. World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.

World News Connection

Complete archive (1995-2013) of translated and English language news and information from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.