POLITICO Pro is considered the essential policy information tool. It offers real-time, customizable news & analysis on developments in policy, access to over 100 policy expert reporters and a data-driven graphics/presentation tool.
Historic and current congressional information. Includes Committee Prints, Congressional Record 1789-2009, CRS Reports, Hearings 1824-present, Unpublished Hearings 1973-1992, House & Senate Documents and Reports, Legislative Histories, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948, and the Serial Set. Coverage: 1789-present.
US Congress and its issues. Summaries and analyses, previous week's news, status of bills in play, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes as well as in depth reports on issues facing Congress. Coverage: 1983-2016.
Integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America. From the American voter, to major and minor political parties, to actual races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships, the collection provides context-driven intelligence on the state of elections in America. Chronological coverage varies by office. Presidential coverage begins 1789. Election data can be downloaded.
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. FDsys contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities. . 1994-present
The Persuasive Power of Campaign Advertising by Travis N. Ridout; Michael M. Franz"The Persuasive Power of Campaign Advertising" offers a comprehensive overview of political advertisements and their changing role in the Internet age. Travis Ridout and Michael Franz examine how these ads function in various kinds of campaigns and how voters are influenced by them. The authors particularly study where ads are placed, asserting that television advertising will still be relevant despite the growth of advertising on the Internet. The authors also explore the recent phenomenon of outrageous ads that go viral on the web-which often leads to their replaying as television news stories, generating additional attention. It also features the first analysis of the impact on voters of media coverage of political advertising and shows that televised political advertising continues to have widespread influence on the choices that voters make at the ballot box.
Publication Date: 2011-03-25
Pulp Politics by Glenn W. RichardsonPulp Politics argues that the stories of American politics have found their most vivid expression in campaign advertising. It is the central argument of this book that adopting the readily identifiable audiovisual conventions of popular culture is particularly attractive to candidates and communicators, and that analysts can benefit from a closer study of the audiovisual narratives of campaign advertising than scholars have engaged in. From the audiovisual evocation of horror in 1988 ads that read as 30-second trailers for the nightmare on Elm Street that would be the Dukakis presidency to the Bush-Cheney spots in 2004 that drew upon the look and feel of the popular anti-terrorism thriller O24, O evocation of popular culture has proven an extremely effective tool of mass communication in a televisual age
Call Number: JK2281 .R53 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-25
Campaign Advertising and American Democracy by Michael M. Franz; Paul B. Freedman; Kenneth M. Goldstein; Travis N. RidoutCampaign Advertising and American Democracyexplores the relationship between exposure to political advertisements and voter behaviour. Contrary to widely held beliefs, political ads do not turn people off to politics. Using evidence from two election cycles and covering House, Senate and Presidential campaigns, the authors show that ads disseminate information about the candidates and generate voter interest. Advertising even prompts voters to feel confident about the functioning of American democracy. The authors find little evidence that ads have adverse effects on voter behaviour; at worst, campaign advertising falls on deaf ears, rather than diminishes voters' interest in politics.