ID Mss. Acc. 2014.083 Extent 0.2 Cubic Feet
Scope and Contents The papers of Marie Katherine and Oliver Seegelken consist of a 1934 diary of the couple's South American sea voyage kept by Marie Seegelken, and of love letters between husband and wife, 1918, 1943, and undated. During WWI, Oliver Seegelken served in the USNRF (United States Naval Reserve Force) in San Pedro, California.
The diary is filled not only with an account of each day, but with hand-drawn illustrations of passengers, crew, and ports. Marie Seegelkenalso wrote vignettes of the passengers and jotted down ideas for short stories based on overheard conversations and ship intrigue. The sea voyage took place on the SS Santa Catalina and SS Santa Elena (both Grace Line) and a passenger list, a farewell dinner menu, and a humerous certificate are included with the diary.
ID UA 5.003 Extent 1.2 Cubic Feet
Scope and Contents Collection concerning James Branch Cabell (1879-1958) who was a student at the College of William and Mary, 1894-1898. Includes biographical material, pictures, essays from the American Spectator, short stories (in magazines), essays (in magazines), clippings of reviews by Cabell, reviews of works by or about Cabell, book jackets of books by or about Cabell and clippings from periodicals and newspapers concerning Cabell. The collection also includes his first novel, <i>The Eagle's Shadow</i>. The inventory for this collection is available in the finding aid/inventory section of this finding aid.
ID Mss. 65 M13 Extent 206.0 Items
Scope and Contents Papers, 1887-1953, of Virginia Taylor McCormick, Norfolk, Va. poet, literary critic, essayist, lecturer, and editor of <i>The Lyric</i> magazine, 1921-1929. Includes manuscript and printed poems; essays; lectures; diaries, and correspondence with other poets and writers. Correspondents include Franklin Pierce Adams, Lady Astor, Lord Beaverbrook, Gamaliel Bradford, Van Wyck Brooks, Walter de la Mare, Ellen Glasgow, Rupert Hughes, Amy Lowell, H. L. Mencken and Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings.
Mss. 99 B73 Extent 20.1 Cubic Feet
Scope and Contents Papers, 1970-2012, of Christopher Bram, novelist and screenwriter which document his writing career. The collection includes manuscripts, correspondence, collegiate notebooks, articles, reviews, translations, photographs, awards, and screenplays covering his career.
Materials relating to Father of Frankenstein (selection): Series 1, Box 2/15-18; Series 6, Box 1/25-26, Box 2/1-5
Misc. correspondence, author critiques: Series 6, Box 4/1-5