A guide to help visiting Keio University students find resources on the topics they choose each year for the research papers and projects that they complete when at the College of William and Mary each August.
Japan Remodeled by Steven Vogel'Japan Remodeled' provides a very broad discussion of Japanese capitalism, covering a number of industries and firms in a way that masterfully surveys the Japanese economy as a whole. It provides an elegant explanation for why things haven't changed more than they have, which is simply that the Japanese don't want more change.
Call Number: HC462.95 .V64 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-23
A History of Japanese Trade and Industry Policy by Mikio SumiyaDespite the destruction of its social and economic infrastructure during the Second World War, Japan's subsequent remarkable recovery and growth propelled it rapidly into the ranks of the developed nations. In order to trace this post-war transformation formally, the Japanese Ministry ofInternational Trade and Industry (MITI) convened a committee of independent academics to compile a seventeen-volume History of Japanese Trade and Industry Policy, of which this volume acts as a summary. Translated for the first time into English, it examines the planning, drafting, andimplementation of various policies adopted by MITI against their economic and industrial background in the period from 1945 to 1979. It provides an objective overview and analysis of the development of international trade and industry policy that will be of interest to economists, politicalscientists, policy-makers, and public administration lawyers alike.
Japanese Industrial Governance by Yul Sohn (Editor)This book uses a wide range of original Japanese sources to trace important aspects of the history of Japanese economic ideas, in particular, the development of Japan's industrial policy. In contrast to most others who begin their story within the 1930s or after 1945, Sohn goes back to the Meiji era to trace the evolution of Japanese developmental debates, state policies and market strategies involving cartels and small enterprises, city and countryside, and approaches that variously emphasize the market and the role of the state as Japan seeks to position itself in the world and regional economies.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2012-10-29
The Role of Tradition in Japan's Industrialization by Masayuki Tanimoto (Editor)This volume explores Japan's industrialization from the perspective of "indigenous development", focusing on what may be identified as "traditional" or "indigenous" factors. Japanese industrialization has often been described as the process of transferring or importing technology andorganization from Western countries. Recent research has, however, shown that economic development had already begun in pre-modern period (Tokugawa-era) in Japan. This economic development not only prepared Japan for the transfer from the West, but also formed the basis of the particularindustrialization process which paralleled transplanted industrialization in modern Japan. The aim of the volume is to demonstrate this aspect of industrialization through the detailed studies of so-called "indigenous" industries.This collection of papers looks at the industries originating in the Tokugawa-era, such as weaving, silk-reeling and pottery, as well as the newly developed small workshops engaged in manufacturing machinery, soap, brash, buttons, etc. Small businesses in the tertiary sector, transportation andcommerce, are also observed. Available for the first time in English, these papers shed new light on the role of "indigenous development" and our understanding of the dualistic character of Japan's economic development.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
Contemporary worldwide social, economic, & political issues, and public policy. Citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, etc. Includes PAIS Archive. Coverage: 1915-present.
The Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (経済産業省 Keizai-sangyō-shō) or METI, is a ministry of the Government of Japan. It was created by the 2001 Central Government Reform when the Ministry of International Trade and Industry merged with agencies from other ministries related to economic activities, such as the Economic Planning Agency.