The Flag, the Poet and the Song by
Every American knows "The Star-Spangled Banner", even if we can't sing it to save our lives. But how many people know what really happened through the perilous night that led a Washington lawyer to pen his historic ode? Like the subjects of Cod or Longitude, our national anthem is something taken for granted. But it was not always so. In this remarkable, flawlessly researched book, New York Times reporter Irvin Molotsky tells the story behind the story and, in the process, reveals an important piece of our country's heritage. Molotsky brings both legendary and unknown events and figures to vivid life-from the flag's seamstress to the military heroes of the War of 1812. In witty, accessible language, he charts the little-known events leading up to the war, and the far-reaching impact this obscure conflict has had on our national psyche. The Flag, the Poet, and the Song also uncovers the facts and fallacies surrounding the flag and the song, from the tremendous size of the flag to why we continue trying to sing our anthem to this day. Brimming with fascinating Americana, The Flag, the Poet, and the Song is a book that will be read and reread, whether you're a lover of history, a patriot, or just waiting for the umpire to say "play ball!"
Pledging Allegiance by
What does it mean to be ""patriotic"" in the United States after the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001? And how have the prevailing notions of patriotism - loudly trumpeted in American media - affected education in American schools? In this wide-ranging and spirited book, renowned educational leaders, classroom practitioners, as well political activists answer these questions with insights, opinions, and hard facts. Contributors focus on critical issues related to patriotism and democracy in education including the social studies curriculum, military recruitment in schools, and student dissent. They investigate the ways our schools have changed since 9/11 and examine the efforts of educators who refuse to toe the new ""patriotic"" line. This timely volume provide a provocative yet grounded exploration of how schools are mediating national patriotic sentiments.
Bonds of Affection by
During the Civil War, Walt Whitman described his admiration for the Union soldiers' loyalty to the ideal of democracy. His argument, that this faith bonded Americans to their nation, has received little critical attention, yet today it raises increasingly relevant questions about American patriotism in the face of growing nationalist sentiment worldwide. Here a group of scholars explores the manner in which Americans have discussed and practiced their patriotism over the past two hundred years. Their essays investigate, for example, the extent to which the promise of democracy has explained citizen loyalty, what other factors--such as devotion to home and family--have influenced patriotism, and how patriotism has often served as a tool to maintain the power of a dominant group and to obscure internal social ills. This volume examines the use of patriotic language and symbols in building unity in the early republic, rebuilding the nation after the Civil War, and sustaining loyalty in an increasingly diverse society. Continuing through the World Wars to the Clinton presidency, the essay topics range from multiculturalism to reactions toward masculine power. In addition to the editor, the contributors include Cynthia M. Koch, Cecilia Elizabeth O'Leary, Andrew Neather, Stuart McConnell, Gaines M. Foster, Kimberly Jensen, David Glassberg and J. Michael Moore, Lawrence R. Samuel, Robert B. Westbrook, Wendy Kozol, George Lipsitz, Barbara Truesdell, Robin Wagner-Pacifici, and William B. Cohen.
Capture the Flag by
You see it everywhere: on bumper stickers, tee shirts, lapel pins, in shop windows, and in front of nearly every school or government building. Yet while the American flag is ubiquitous, as a symbol it is both heavily freighted and misunderstood. Now an acclaimed European professor of American history brings a fresh perspective to the American flag, exploring its political, social, and cultural significance across the broad swath of its history. Mining a rich vein of materials from history, literature, music, and popular culture, Arnaldo Testi analyzes the symbolic importance of the flag to the national consciousness of this "nation of immigrants" and sees in it the very contradictions that make up our history: secularism and sacredness, freedom and empire, inclusiveness and aggressive self-confidence. Using sources as diverse as Walt Whitman and Jimi Hendrix, and events as divergent as the American Revolution, the moon landing, and the terrorist attacks of September 11th, Testi reveals the central importance of the flag to the creation of our nation, the evolution of our national character, and the spread of American culture and power across the globe, while illustrating the varied and often conflicting meanings different Americans ascribe to it. Whether you worship the flag or revile it, respect it or ignore it, Capture the Flag offers the reader a colorful and compelling exploration of the sway it holds on the American imagination.
Encyclopedia of National Anthems by
Since the appearance of the first edition of the Encyclopedia of National Anthems in 2003, many new events and situations have radically redrawn the political boundaries of the world map and redefined the policies and goals of individual nation-states from Nepal to Afghanistan, Mozambique to Montenegro. All of these shifts have entailed the creation or adoption of new anthems or the modification of existing ones. This revised and expanded edition of the Encyclopedia of National Anthems not only makes the long-overdue updates to the national anthems of the world but also improves upon the quality and accuracy of the music sheets and historical backgrounds through consultation with a greater number and wider variety of source materials. Every political entity with non-Latin script now has its original lyrics documented in the book, while English translations have been modified to better express meaning and intent. Flags and maps have been added to the country fact sheets to provide a visual complement to the text. In addition to current sovereign countries, this edition includes in separate sections the anthems of international organizations; of Kosovo, South Ossetia, and other non-UN states; and of extinct countries, such as the former Soviet Union and East Germany. This collection does not adhere to any political stance but instead reflects the contested and complicated nature of the modern nation-state, whose boundaries remain fluid and ever subject to change. This new edition of the Encyclopedia of National Anthems is an indispensable reference source for students and academic scholars for school projects and academic research initiatives. Libraries will find the new edition a valuable addition to their collections, as will government and diplomatic missions requiring a handy reference for international exchange. For the casual reader, this compilation also provides a wealth of resources that both inform and entertain.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window