Research Guides: Keio University Students' Research Guide: Culinary Cultures and Communication

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
Food Studies Online
Food Studies Onlineis a first-of-its-kind database, bringing together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences & nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets, and health reference books. Coverage: Varies by title.
Anthropology Plus
Social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute-UK). Index to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries. Coverage: Late 19th century-present.
AnthroSource
All aspects of anthropology. Journal articles, books, bulletins, and newsletters from the American Anthropological Association. Coverage: varies by title.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communications, journalism, and mass media studies. Journal articles, also searchable cited references. Coverage: 1915-present.
Global Road Warrior
Practical information for travelers. Information by country on basic facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, telecommunications, money & banking, health & medical information, etc. Coverage: Current.

Recommended Books

Looking for books to give you an overview on a topic? Subject headings can be great shortcuts if you find the "right" one to narrow down your search. Most books in our catalog use the Library of Congress Classification System. This website can help you search for the most useful subject headings for your topic.

Subject headings to try:

Food Habits
Food in popular culture

Confused by the letters and numbers associated with each book?

Each physical book has its own code that helps you track it down in the library. You can use the number to figure out what floor it's on and what general section of the library you can expect to find it in. Here's a page on how to read a call number.

The library floorplans can help you orient yourself to where in the building your book can be found. If you ever have questions about finding a book in the library, the Front Desk will be happy to help you locate what you're looking for.