Research Guides: Keio University Students' Research Guide: Differences in School

Databases

ERIC (Ebsco)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Education Research Complete
All levels of education and all educational specialties. Also covers curriculum instruction, testing, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Journal articles, books, and conference papers. Coverage: Mid 1990s-present, some content back to 1930s.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Global Road Warrior
Practical information for travelers. Information by country on basic facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, telecommunications, money & banking, health & medical information, etc. Coverage: Current.

Books

Subject headings to try:

Public schools -- united states
School environment
Education -- aims and objectives

Confused by the letters and numbers associated with each book?

Each physical book has its own code that helps you track it down in the library. You can use the number to figure out what floor it's on and what general section of the library you can expect to find it in. Here's a page on how to read a call number.

The library floorplans can help you orient yourself to where in the building your book can be found. If you ever have questions about finding a book in the library, the Front Desk will be happy to help you locate what you're looking for.