This archive focuses on Argentina after the era of Juan Pern. In this period civilian administrations traded power, trying, with limited success, to deal with diminished economic growth and continued social and labor demands. The documents offer insight into various aspects of the Argentine economy. Examples include: the minister of public works discussing a program in "highways, railroads, and water transport" (June 1960); a report on the newly appointed undersecretary of mines requesting that the embassy's economic counselor have the U.S. government "examine the possibilities of procurement of tungsten" (June 1961); and a resolution by the National Cinematographic Institute requiring that all films exhibited in motion picture theaters feature Spanish subtitles "accompanied by written proof that the dialogue has been has been translated and subtitled in Argentina" (April 1962).
This archive focuses on Brazil in the early 1960s. Sample documents include a report from Recife on the cultivation and export of pineapples, "especially in the states of Pernambuco and Paraba," as "an increasing source of foreign exchange for the Northeast." A November 1962 memorandum details the issuance of 40 billion cruzeiros in new currency "to meet runs on commercial banks during the political crisis, gradually flowing back to the Bank of Brazil following the return of normal conditions." The collection covers the period following the resignation from the presidency of Janio Quadros in 1961 and the succession of Vice President Joao Goulart, whose years in office were marked by high inflation, economic stagnation, and the increasing influence of radical political elements. The armed forces, alarmed by these developments, staged a coup on March 31, 1964, during the administration of U.S. President Lyndon B. Johnson.
The Dominican Republic has experienced many setbacks on the road to democracy. Dominican political history has been defined by traditions of "personalism," militarism, and social and economic elitism which has undermined its efforts to establish liberal constitutional rule. This collection includes U.S. State Department, U.S. Embassy, and Dominican Republic governmental dispatches, instructions, and miscellaneous correspondence dealing with topics such as political affairs and government; public order and safety; military affairs; social matters (including history and culture); economic conditions (including immigration and emigration); industry and agriculture; communications and transportation; and navigation.
Primary source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Amricas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Materials are scanned from collections held by archives of Casa de les Americas in Havana, Cuba.
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions from 1945 to the present.
Contains United States intelligence, diplomatic, and presidential papers that deal with nearly all parts of the world.
El Imparcial was a conservative, pro-independence tabloid published in San Juan, Puerto Rico starting in 1918. During the first half of the 20th century, it was the most widely read publication in Puerto Rico. El Imparcial is perhaps best known for its reportage on political corruption in Puerto Rico in the 1940s, and for its unique coverage of the Cuban Revolution (1953-1959). The El Imparcial digital archive is a valuable resource for scholars of history, politics, and Latin American Studies.
Works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers. From Cuban sources, mostly in Spanish. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1898-1958.
Political relations of states, including diplomatic and consular representation and bilateral treaties, conventions, and agreements. Documents from the US Department of State, originally microfilmed as "Records of the Department of State relating to Political Relations." An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1944.
During the 1930s, U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean changed dramatically. Growing war clouds in Europe and Asia predicated the need for securing resources and allies in the Western Hemisphere. Giving up unpopular military intervention, the U.S. shifted to other methods to maintain its influence in Latin America: Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political subversion. This collection examines this new "Good Neighbor" policy that was adopted by the United States and its effects.
Not to be confused with the Gale database "Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944"
Sources from the nineteenth and twentieth century on Mexican women's history. This database of photo albums, periodicals, and literary texts gathers historical, political, social, and cultural information regarding the role of women in Mexico since the country's independence.
America Latina en Video / Amrica Latina em Vdeo / Latin America in Video gives instructors, students, and researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region. The first of its kind, the collections materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
This collection comprises 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.
Major American newspapers, some foreign newspapers, and selected stories from US regional newspapers. Contains over 500 U.S. newspapers (ex. USA Today, Washington Post) and 700 international newspapers (ex. Toronto Star, Manila Times). Also includes television and radio news transcripts. Coverage: Varies by title.
The United States kept a contingent force in Nicaragua almost continually from 1912 until 1933. Although reduced to 100 in 1913, the contingent served as a reminder of the willingness of the United States to use force and its desire to keep conservative governments in power. This collection provides documentation on the almost continual political instability in Nicaragua. An Archives Unbound database, scanned from National Archives Department of State records. Coverage: 1910-1933.
Noticias Gráficas was a groundbreaking Argentine newspaper published in Buenos Aires during the first half of the 20th century. Known for its innovative double-page illustrated center spread and high-quality journalism, it was one of Argentina's most prominent evening papers. Despite its closure during the dictatorship of Pedro Eugenio Aramburu, the paper's legacy endures. The Noticias Gráficas Digital Archive is a valuable resource for scholars of history and Latin American Studies, as well as scholars of media studies and fine arts.
Documents in this collection illustrate Cold War contexts, the role of the United States in Venezuela's foreign affairs, and the centrality of oil in the Venezuelan economy. Examples include a U.S. Department of State telegram titled "Communist Subversion in Venezuela," which details "three foreign Communists" being held on "charges of conspiring to overthrow the government, illegally purchasing arms and disseminating Red propaganda..." Illustrations of the Castro-Communist insurgency in Venezuela include a letter from Ambassador Stewart C. Allen to the Secretary of State that details a detachment of Marines being sent "[to] guard Maracaibo Lake installations and security installations elsewhere being strengthened. "Meanwhile arrest extremist labor leaders continuing in oil fields on direct instructions [to] State Governors from President" (October 1962). Other documents detail a range of issues, such as: clarification of Venezuelan boundaries; multiple balance sheets for the Central Bank of Venezuela; and police corruption in Zulia, one of Venezuela's twenty-three states.
Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919-2019 examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South. It shows how women have negotiated power and status regarding private or public programs centered on their rights and social inclusion. Stressing the historical problem of the feminization of poverty, coupled with womens invisibility within most foreign aid regimes and approaches to technical assistance, the project documents how women and their allies worked to balance economic growth and social improvement while navigating equity and the fairer allocation of resources. Accompanying essays by leading scholars in the field outline and critique significant shifts in approaches to development, including that of a gendered post-development perspective.
