Research Guides: HIST 150: Law and Society in Imperial China (Fall 2024): Finding Articles

Articles: Starting Points

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
East, Southeast, and South Asia. Citations to Western-language journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc. Coverage: 1971-present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.

Keep it simple!
- Only use a few search terms at once, connected by AND
Use nouns (people/place/thing/film) as search terms in the search
Limit to peer reviewed materials
Use Boolean!
When you find an article on your topic, open it and pay attention to the subject terms!
- When you search these databases, keywords will become highlighted in the results. Pay attention to these, they will help you find search terms
Do NOT limit to full text
- Even if a database thinks we don't own an article, we frequently do have access through another databases. Use the "find at W&M" button to check.
- OR use ILL order a PDF at no cost -- we'll email it to your @wm address.

Interlibrary Loan
Use interlibrary loan to obtain books and articles from libraries around the world.

The evolution of legal codes and institutions in imperial China
- (evolution OR develop*) AND ("legal codes" OR "legal institutions") AND china
- history AND ("legal codes" OR "legal institutions") AND china
The role of law in regulating social relationships and maintaining social order
- china AND law* AND ("social relationships" OR "social order")
- "imperial china" AND law* AND society
The impact of law on gender, class, and ethnic relations
- china AND law AND (gender OR class OR ethnic*) AND history
- law AND (gender OR class OR ethnic*) AND "imperial china"
  - really broad, suggest focus on one of those 3 at a time
The intersection of law and religion, including the role of Confucianism in shaping legal thought
- china AND confucian* AND law AND religion
- "imperial china" AND (law* OR legal*) AND religion
The role of legal institutions in the governance of imperial China, including the use of law as a tool of state power and control
- "legal institutions" AND china
  - look at subjects!