HIST 150: Law and Society in Imperial China (Fall 2024)

East, Southeast, and South Asia. Citations to Western-language journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc. Coverage: 1971-present.

Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.

Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

China Art Digital Library provides a comprehensive collection of works from Chinese fine arts, calligraphy, and folk art from 3000 B.C. to the present day. China Art Digital Library includes over 780,000 art images from more than 400 albums, museum and exhibition catalogs, and includes references to nearly 720,000 supporting research documents available in China Academic Journals (CAJ) and China Doctoral Dissertations (CDMD). CNKI will continue to add new images as they become available from Chinese art exhibition catalogs and international Chinese exhibitions. At the same time, based on CNKI massive academic resources, the database offers a wealth of art information, including artists’ information, techniques, history background, and theory research. Navigation available in English; content primarily in Chinese.

Explore an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history.

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Librarys Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied.

Cross-searchable access to primary sources spanning three centuries of history, literature, trade and the international affairs of China. From the 1800s to the modern era, this cross-searchable platform brings together three Adam Matthew Digital collections of rare printed books, pamphlets, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers and periodicals. These are supported by a range of incredible art works, illustrations and photographs.

With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the Peoples Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period.

Travel back in time, during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953, with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers providing critical perspectives and first-hand accounts on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. Coverage: 1832-1953

Newspapers.com is a historical database of newspapers across the globe, potentially going as far back as 1690 and up until the present day.