GEOL 100: Geology of National Parks

A wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between the Indigenous peoples of North America and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection. Includes manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books, photographs and newspapers. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

Provides users with diverse and informative primary sources that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, magazines, periodical and photograph collections.

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.

Indigenous Americans have shaped the geography, arts, culture, and civil discourse of their homes from prior to the arrival of Europeans through modern times, often whilst experiencing intergenerational trauma and compounding discrimination, racism, and oppression. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Indigenous history, daily life, traumas, and triumphs. Series 3 focuses on 2017-Present.

Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**

Indian Claims Insight is a one-of-a-kind research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. Coverage: 1789-Present