HIST 150: The Family in Premodern Europe (Fall 2024)

There are 8 searches your team has to complete.

After you finish each, call over the librarian. If your answer is correct, I'll show you the next question. First team to win gets a prize!

Using the Library Catalog, please find me any book or ebook about courtly love in medieval France.

HINT:

• limit to books and ebooks
• use boolean (ex, AND, quotation marks, etc)
• There are several possible options!

Using the history database  Historical Abstracts,  find me recent (2010 and later) peer-reviewed article about the Divorce of Henry VIII

HINT:

• Limit to article published after 2010
• use boolean (and, quotation marks, etc)
• be sure the article is Peer Reviewed
• be sure to go into "search options" and deselect "also serach within the full text" and "apply equivalent subjects"
  • If you miss this step, the search becomes much harder.

Using PRIMO (the main library catalog, but expanded beyond books), please find a book review of Ozment's Three Behaim Boys

HINT: 

• It helps to use boolean
• You can find book reviews in Historical Abstracts too, but PRIMO is sometimes easier.
• Use the book review feature in the catalog

The libraries have numerous "Sourcebooks," or collections of translated & reprinted primary source documents

One of your readings for this class, Love, Marriage, and Family in the Middle Ages is an example of a sourcebook.

There are sourcebooks on the table at the back of the room. 

Find any document in any of the books relating to the themes of this class: family, marriage, household, etc. 

Show me when you're ready, and be ready to explain why the document fits.

HINT

• Some books will Not have documents you need.
• Some books will have whole sections on Family in the Medieval period.
• You'll need to skim multiple volumes to find good documents.

Using the Library catalog, please find me a CHAPTER about adultery in Medieval England.

HINT

• Use the library catalog limited to books and ebooks
• use boolean (quotation marks, AND, etc)
• sometimes you can use the "Chapters" feature in the catalog, but not often-- in this case, it will NOT help you
• Consult the Table of Contents of your results to find a chapter.
• There are several correct options

From the main library webpage, find when the Religious Studies Librarian is holding office hours on Oct 31, 2024.

HINT

• It's somewhere on the library homepage!

Using any of the primary source databases highlighted on the Primary Sources tab of this guide,  find any primary source about students or student life in premodern Europe.

HINT

• keep searches very simple, no more than one or two words
• If two used, use boolean (AND or quotation marks)
• You may need to try several databases
• simple, one word searches are best
  • don't over-think it!
• Remember, these databases are already about the premodern world and about history, so "premodern" or "history" or "primary sources" are NOT terms you need to use.
  • limit publication date as needed
  • if you're in a history database, you don't need to type in History
• There are many options/answers to this question.

Create an ILL account! Call me over when everyone at the table has one.

NOTE please do NOT sign up as a faculty member -- this awards no extra privileges, it just confuses the folk downstairs.
For dept, put your major. If you are undeclared, you can guess, it doesn't really matter.