The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) is an independent federal agency created in 1965. It is one of the largest funders of humanities programs in the United States.
Because democracy demands wisdom, NEH serves and strengthens our republic by promoting excellence in the humanities and conveying the lessons of history to all Americans. The Endowment accomplishes this mission by awarding grants for top-rated proposals examined by panels of independent, external reviewers.
NEH grants typically go to cultural institutions, such as museums, archives, libraries, colleges, universities, public television, and radio stations, and to individual scholars.
"Rooted in the classical liberal tradition, IHS is a non-profit organization that supports the achievement of a freer and more humane society by connecting and supporting graduate students, scholars, and intellectuals who are driving progress in critical conversations shaping the 21st century."
Foundation Directory Online Professional provides access to a wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. It includes: The entire universe of over 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S. A database of over 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders A database of over 3 million recently awarded grants A keyword-searchable database of over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF Grantmaker-related news, job opportunities, and Request For Proposals (RFPs) Grantmaker-sponsored publications