Oral histories with 23 individuals born between 1823 and 1863, discussing how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom. Includes some songs learned during their enslavement. Interviewees also speak about their lives after enslavement (1870-1930s). [Note: These are all audio files. Use Subject Headings in records to learn more about what is discussed in the interview]
Collection of books, images, and articles documenting the African American experience from the 18th to early 20th century. Includes autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves. [Note: Does contain fictionalized slave narratives. For best search experience use 'Browse Images by Subject' and then use the link back to the text document.]
A freely available digital discovery tool designed for the research and study of African American history and culture. It includes a growing collection of digital materials—images, videos, books, and more—provided by 500+ libraries, museums, and other repositories around the country.
African Americans and Reconstruction, 1865-1883 contains nearly 1,400 fully searchable printed works from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow. It includes documents related to African Americans and citizenship, voting rights, literacy, land rights, employment, and more, including the gaps between written law and practice.
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.