Research Guides: MBA Sprint Week: Office Space Markets

Topic

How will workforce dynamics such as the rising desire for flexible work schedules and locations including work from home, worker shortages in key industries and the need to retain talent while conveying corporate culture, and changing workforce demographics by age, gender, and ethnicity affect demand?.
How do employers assess the benefits of flexibility vs. productivity?
How will economic growth, rising incomes, and social changes affect this demand?
How do these patterns differ across key industries that are major users of office space?
What are the major supply issues pertaining to office space?
US commercial real estate (CRE) is a favorably viewed asset class for investment from leading economic powers around the world. This is particularly true for tier 1 markets like NYC, LA, Chicago, etc. How will strained relations with countries like China shape capital flows into US CRE in the coming years?

Government & Web Resources

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Principal federal statistical agency for data on employment, wages, prices, hours, and employee benefits.
Census Bureau
Conducts the decennial population and housing census, the American Community Survey, and many other population estimates and projections surveys.
McKinsey Report: The Future of Work After COVID-19
OECD Employment
Areas of work include collective bargaining, future of work, job quality, skills and work, youth, working better with age, and more.
PwC Pulse Surveys
Data from current and past surveys includes Executive views on business, work trends, pursuing growth, and post-COVID predictions.
U.S. Department of Labor
Issues reports and compiles statistics on workers, work conditions, pay, hours, and benefits.
World Economic Forum: Future of Work
Contains forum insights and related reports regarding the future of work across the globe.

Databases

Prior to utilizing any library databases, please consult W&M Libraries Conditions of Use for Electronic Resources.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. A complete database comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
Access World News
Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 12,000 sources and 200+ countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
D&B Hoovers
D&B Hoovers delivers insightful information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world; including the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific and emerging markets. Search by Company Name, Executives, Industry or by using Conceptual Search and Business Signals. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Android devices not supported.
Data Planet (now Sage Data)
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics in Data Planet. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Economist Online
The Economist is one of the major news magazines, focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Factiva
World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.
Fitch Connect
Country risk, industry, and company intelligence on global markets. Proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 22 industry sectors. Coverage: Current. Formerly Business Monitor International.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
The United States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
MarketLine Advantage (now GlobalData Explorer)
MarketLine Advantage offers company, industry, and country profiles. This includes SWOT analyses, 12,000 company profiles, 16,500 company capsules, case studies, industry profiles in 215 countries and 46 political and geographic groupings. Includes case studies and management reports. A daily news feed is also included.
Mintel Academic
Offers yearly reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets in the CPG/FMCG, financial services, media, retail, leisure and industrial space. Market data including size, segmentation and forecasts. Includes daily updates on the hottest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy.
NetAdvantage
Standard & Poors NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industries, along with analysis of the major companies in a given industry. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.
New York Times Digital
Unlimited access to the NYTimes.com web site and NYT apps. Also includes New York Times' archives for articles outside the 1923-1980 date range. Must be logged in to your NYTimes.com account. Sign up for a free account by going to https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ (search for: William & Mary).
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Coverage: 1895-present.
UNIDO Statistics Data Portal
Presents statistics of overall industrial growth, detailed data on business structure and statistics on major indicators of industrial performance by country in the historical time series.
Wall Street Journal Digital
Unlimited access to WSJ.com, mobile, and tablet apps. Focuses on personalized, current, mobile and credible news. Print edition available in EReader format. Coverage includes four-year archive. Use the link above to activate your free account. You need only do this one time. This will provide direct access to wsj.com.