Using JoVE in the Classroom & Research Lab

Access the Science Education Basic Biology Series to view the individual collections listed below:

1. General Laboratory Techniques
   • This collection exhibits how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments.
2. Basic Methods in Cellular Molecular Biology
   • This collection demonstrates how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.
3. Biology I: Yeast, Drosophila and C. Elegans
   • This collection features three model organisms commonly used in life sciences research; also covering methodology to maintain them in the laboratory. 
4. Biology II: Mouse, Zebrafish and Chick
   • ​​This collection features three vertebrate species commonly used in life sciences research; also covering methodology on how they are maintained in the laboratory. 
5. Lab Animal Research​​
   • This collection is a comprehensive video guide for appropriate animal care and use.
6. Lab Safety
   • ​This collection provides safety guidelines to be followed when working with hazardous materials and equipment.

Access the Science Education Advanced Biology Series to view the individual collections listed below:

1. Neuroscience
   • ​​This collection showcases an introduction to neuroscience and five major branches of study: neurophysiology, neuroanatomy, cell and molecular neuroscience, behavioral neuroscience, and developmental neuroscience.
2. Developmental Biology
   • ​​This collection covers five areas: developmental genetics; molecular developmental biology; stem cell biology; organogenesis, and aging and regeneration. 
3. Genetics
   • ​​This collection focuses on genetics and five broad subdisciplines: the genetics of individuals and populations, genetics and disease, gene expression, epigenetics, and genetic engineering.
4. Cell Biology
   • ​​This collection provides a glimpse into the field of cell biology and profiles five cellular phenomena: cell division, motility, endocytosis and exocytosis, metabolism, and cell death.
5. Immunology
   • This collection showcases staple techniques of immunology labs, including labeling and sorting of immune cells and demonstrations of staining and imaging of immune tissue and cell staples.
6. Microbiology
   • This collection demonstrates proper sterile technique and plating, how to enrich samples and culturing methods for mixed or pure samples, and common methods for identifying microbial isolates.

Access the Science Education Chemistry Series to view the individual collections, listed below:

1. General Chemistry 
   • ​​This collection provides a foundation in general chemistry, showcasing basic lab techniques and commonly used equipment.
2. Organic Chemistry I
   • ​​This collection features techniques routinely used in the organic chemistry lab, with a focus on regulating temperature and atmosphere during chemical reactions and post-reaction refinement. 
3. Organic Chemistry II​​
   • This collection covers the theory and reactions necessary to carry out syntheses on a more advanced level. 
4. Analytical Chemistry
   • ​​This collection takes a broad look at quantitative analysis and instrumentation including electrochemistry, spectroscopy, chromatography, and mass spectrometry.
5. Inorganic Chemistry
   • ​​This collection covers a range of inorganic chemistry protocols and concepts including air-free techniques and concepts like Lewis Acid and Bases, and advanced analysis techniques.
6. Biochemistry
   • ​​This collection showcases commonly used purification methods including, affinity chromatography and analytical methods, like MALDI-TOF.

Access the Science Education Clinical Skills Series to view the   individual collections listed below:

1. Physical Examination I
   • This collection provides a foundation for performing physical exams with many techniques to key pulmonary and cardiovascular physical examinations.
2. Physical Examination II
   • This collection is a specialized edition featuring methodologies and procedures associated with sensitive and comprehensive physical exams, such as HEENT exams, abdominal exams, and pelvic exams. 
3. Physical Examination III
   • This collection covers physical examination of the two major systems in the body: neurological and musculoskeletal.
4. Emergency Medicine and Critical Care
   • This collection delves into a wide range of procedures employed in emergency and intensive care settings.
5. Nursing Skills 
   • This collection demonstrates medication preparation and administration, with videos highlighting important safety checks, considerations, dosage calculations and common mistakes associated with improper medication administration. 

Access the Science Education Engineering Series to view the individual collections listed below:

1. Chemical Engineering 
   • ​​This collection covers fundamental concepts in chemical engineering, using an experimental approach showcasing procedures of various apparatuses such as tray dryer and viscometer.
2. Electrical Engineering
   • ​​This collection begins with electrical safety and best practices for commonly used equipment, as well as, videos introducing elements such as inductors, transformers, and convertors. 
3. Structural Engineering 
   • ​​This collection features fundamental concepts and protocols for material characterization, with specific emphasis on common construction materials such as steel, wood, and concrete.
4. Mechanical Engineering 
   • ​​This collection covers a range of concepts for understanding and designing mechanical systems. The videos in this collection examines fundamental analytical methods commonly employed to understand the physical behavior.
5. Bioengineering
   • ​​This collection covers core concepts, which include production of biomaterials, histotypic and whole organ tissue cultures, bioprocessing techniques, and complex system-level fields of bioMEMs and biosensing. 
6. Materials Engineering 
   • ​​This collection introduces cutting-edge methods for analysis and characterization of materials, and introduces a range of advanced materials and processes for new technologies and applicants. 
7. Aeronautical Engineering
   • This collection covers fundamental concepts with a focus on methods to evaluate aerodynamic performance, techniques to visualize subsonic and supersonic flow patterns, and procedures to calibrate measurement systems for real-time flight control.

Access the Science Education Environmental Series to view the individual collections listed below:

1. Environmental Sciences
   • This collection explores and evaluates environmental systems with topics ranging from soil and water contaminants, invasive species, alternative energy and forestry. 
2. Environmental Microbiology
   • ​​This collection features an introduction to microbial communities in the environment and their roles in ecosystems. 
3. Earth Sciences 
   • ​​This collection covers topics ranging from geology to geochemistry with various demonstrations including physical and chemical properties of minerals and the analysis of rock formation. 

Access the Science Education Physics Series to view the individuals collection listed below:

1. Physics I
   • ​​This collection features classical mechanics and thermodynamics discussing relevant laws and equations.
2. Physics II
   • ​​This collection showcases topics including electrostatics, magnetism, optics, wave-based oscillations, and electrical circuits, while explaining underlying principles behind physical phenomena.

Access the Science Education Psychology Series to view the individual collections listed below:

1. Behavioral Science
   • ​This collection focuses on the fundamentals of behavior neuroscience and the concepts of learning, memory, cognition, movement, addiction, and behavioral disorders.
2. Experimental Psychology
   • ​This collection showcases how psychological experiments are embedded in the actual research process.
3. Cognitive Psychology
   • ​This collection describes paradigms used to study complex mental processes underlying attention, perception, learning and memory. 
4. Developmental Psychology
   • ​This collection focuses on the dynamic changes that emerge throughout infancy and childhood. 
5. Neuropsychology
   • ​This collection presents functional imaging to help diagnose brain damage and mental disorders.
6. Sensation and Perception
   • ​This collection features a variety of procedures to study how the brain processes our complex sensory world and solves problems confronting conscious awareness and visual, tactile, and auditory perception.
7. Social Psychology
   • ​​This collection presents classical methods used to investigate how social contexts influence people's actions, thoughts, and attitudes.