Research Guides: HIST 150/LAS 150 Pirates of the Atlantic World: Home

Library Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, etc., appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970-present.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Contains books, maps, artwork, and other primary source materials from the Gilder Lehrman Collection. It is divided into two modules: Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859; and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Books and other items printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere. Coverage: 1473-1700.
Early European Books: Printed Sources to 1700 This link opens in a new window
Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Early European Books includes digitized books from major European libraries including the National Library of France, the National Library of Florence, the National Library of the Netherlands, the Wellcome Library, London, and the Royal Library, Denmark. EEB provides digital access to continental printed texts before 1701 with full-color, high-resolution images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is captured in its entirety, complete with its binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and any loose inserts, providing information about the physical characteristics and provenance histories of the original artefact. There are over 53,000 books included, in languages including French, German, Italian, Hebrew, Dutch, Spanish, Latin, Greek, Icelandic, Swedish, and Danish. Collections 1-19.
America's Historical Newspapers (includes Early American Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from all 50 states with eyewitness reporting, letters, advertisements, obituaries, etc. Includes access to Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922), Series IV (1756-1922), and Series V (1777-1922). Coverage: 1690-1922.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Discovery includes access to a wide variety of electronic, licensed, physical and locally digitized materials. Users can discover more than 1.8 billion items in local libraries and around the world with a single search.

Special Collections items

Go to the Special Collections Research Center and ask at the desk to see:

"Chronology 1691-1692" and "Pirates" folders
Scrapbook of Leonard Born includes photographs of sites associated with Blackbeard the pirate
Lloyd H. Williams Papers
The History of the Buccaneers of Americaby Alexander O. Exquemelin in which he gives magnificent first hand, possibly eye witness, details of pirate life in the Caribbean.
The History of the pirates, containing the lives of those noted pirate captains, Misson, Bowen, Kidd, Tew, Halsey, White, Condent, Bellamy, and their several crews. Also, an account of the piracies and cruelties of John Augur, William Cunningham, Dennis Mackarthy, who were tried, condemned and executed at Nassau, New Providence, on the tenth of December, 1718. To which is added, A correct account of the late piracies committed in the West Indies; and the expedition of Commodore Porter by Thomas Carey. This book gives accounts of numerous pirates on the high seas.