This collection is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1967-1973.
The HistoryMakers Digital Archive is an extensive online database of over 9,000 hours of full-text and video interviews with African-Americans distinguished in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life. More content being added each week.
Collection of books, images, and articles documenting the African American experience from the 18th to early 20th century. Includes autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves. [Note: Does contain fictionalized slave narratives. For best search experience use 'Browse Images by Subject' and then use the link back to the text document.]
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus including resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
Includes monographs, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides about 19th and 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment and more particularly looking at the daily lives of women and men.
Biographical information on African Americans. Includes Chadwyck-Healey's microform collection: Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950, obituary files, slave narrative collections, photographs, and illustrations; and the index to that collection, Black biography, 1790-1950.
A leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1909-1975.
One of the most widely circulated African American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1893-1988.