Food Studies Online includes primary source materials (visual, video and textual) on the social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications of food and foodways.
Search magazines published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. For foodways related articles try keywords like: cookery, barbecue, southern food, etc.
Search for books, pamphlets, and other materials on Early American history and culture. For foodways related materials try keywords like cookery, barbecue, etc. Coverage: 1500-1926.
Newspapers from all 50 states with eyewitness reporting, letters, advertisements, obituaries, etc. Includes access to Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922), Series IV (1756-1922), and Series V (1777-1922). Coverage: 1690-1922.
Digital archive of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers published during the past four centuries. Includes titles from all 50 states. Coverage: 1690-1922.
Collections include: African American Newspapers ; Series 1, From Colonies to Nation Early American Newspapers; Series 2, The New Republic ; Series 3, From Farm to City; Series 4, The Rise of Industry ; Series 5, An Emerging World Power
When the Cincinnati Enquirer printed its first issue 1841, the thriving city the nations 6th largest in the mid-19th century - was known as The Queen of the West. A remarkable period of rapid growth, epitomizing the expansive spirit of the country at large, gave The Cincinnati Enquirer a unique perspective to report on international, national and regional news. Coverage: 1841-2009
