Skip to main content

Electronic Books : Electronic Book Collections

Electronic Books

Electronic Book Collections Available through Swem Library

College of William and Mary

This chart lists the major e-book collections to which current College of William & Mary students, staff, and faculty have access through Swem Library.  Additional book chapters and full-text e-books are available in a variety of other databases. 

For additional e-book collections, please visit the E-Books Database list.  Please contact the library's Research Department for help.

E-BOOK COLLECTION

CONTENT

DOWNLOADING
& MOBILE APPS

PRINTING

USERS AT A TIME

 

ACLS Humanities E-book

 

 .Humanities   

Books not available to downlaod to mobile devices

Details

 

.No limit

.Unlimited

EBSCO E-Book Collection

 

EBSCO e-books help


EBSCO e-books user guide


EBSCO e-book FAQs

 


· All subjects

· Chapters and excerpts

EBSCO downloading help


EBSCO downloading steps

EBSCO e-books on smart phones: how to download the app

· Up to 60 pages per session (some publishers allow only 30 or 40 pages per session)

EBSCO printing help

Most EBSCO e-Collection e-books allow only 1 concurrent user. 

Please check with Swem Library's Research Desk for information on multiple user e-books.

EBSCO E-Book Academic Collection

EBSCO e-books help


EBSCO e-books user guide

 
EBSCO e-book FAQs

 

· All subjects

· Chapters and excerpts

EBSCO downloading help

EBSCO downloading steps

 

EBSCO e-books on smart phones: how to download the app

· Up to 60 pages per session (some publishers allow only 30 or 40 pages per session)

EBSCO printing help

EBSCO *Academic* e-books have unlimited concurrent users.

Ebrary

 

Ebrary help

 

 


·All subjects

· Most book chapters; some whole books

Ebrary downloading help  

· Mobile apps

Ebrary mobile apps

  Ebrary: New Reader – Annotations, highlights and bookmarks  (YouTube video)

     Ebrary: New Reader – Downloading (YouTube video)

·Up to 60 pages per session

Ebrary printing help

Most Ebrary e-books allow only 1 user; check with Swem Library's Research Desk for information on multiple user e-books.

MyiLibrary

 

MyiLibrary help

 

 

· All subjects

 

· Open individual title and see downloading options

· Open individual title and see print options

1 user

 

OpenBook Publishers

 

 

· All subjects

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference help

· Reference books on all topics

· Individual pages · Individual pages Multiple

 

 

Oxford Scholarship Online

OSO help

· Law, Political Science, and Economics & Finance modules only

· Chapters · Chapters

5 User Limit

(Economics, Law, Political Science)

 

       

Safari Tech Books Online*

Safari help

 

 

 

· Computer science and technology

· No

· One page at a time

Safari printing help

50, shared with other libraries

SciVerse Science  Direct*

Science Direct help

 

 

· Science, technology, engineering,  mathematics, & health (STEM-H)

 

· Yes

ScienceDirect downloading help

· Chapters

Multiple

   SpringerLink*

SpringerLink help

 

 

· STEM-H

· Yes

· Chapters

Multiple

*Provided by the Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) consortium